Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
So easy and the rolls are moist and delicious. I especially like how you can save the dough in the fridge and use for several days in a row. With only two of us at home, its an easy, fresh way to add delicious rolls to dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This recipe creates a sweet, very lush bread. I made it exactly as directed the first time. The second time I quartered the dough and rolled each quarter out very thin. It made an even better crescent. In addition to it being thinner I wound up with more crescents...which is a very good thing. This is definately a keeper recipe. I will probably keep this dough made and in my fridge on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
If you want to make these into crescents, you have to roll this into a much bigger circle than 12". Even with only half the dough, this is WAY too thick to roll into crescents. Roll a quarter of the dough until it is a 1/4" thick circle, then cut it into 8 triangles. Make each triangle even thinner by going over with a rolling pin before brushing on butter. - The taste of these rolls is fluffy! They puff up beautifully. Very nice. - Cooked at 350, not 400! ****I do bake these on the top rack, and brush with egg wash (egg white, 2tbsp water) before 2nd rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
these are absolutely the best rolls I have ever eaten! I wouldn't change a thing. They are so light, flaky and tender,,,,,,, you can't eat just one! I left the dough in the frig for 4 days! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA
Living In: Naples, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This is my new favorite bread recipe! The rolls were easy to make and tasted great. I did take a reviewers tip to lower the baking temperature by 25 degrees in order to avoid burning the bottom of the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
These were great. I served them 4 ways: the cinnamon/pecan rolls that another reviewer suggested with a maple glaze, with herbes de provence rolled in, with bacon cheddar cheese rolled in and plain. All 4 were fantastic. Only disappointment is that they were not flaky, but coming from a bread machine, this was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I used leftover mashed potatoes and they turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I would give this 10 stars if I could. Absolutely magnificent. It takes some time, but they are so worth it. It makes a lot so I cut entire dough in half and made one for dinner. Then I cut the other half in half again and froze those two chunks. This is a must try! Did that all make sense!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These are easy to make and absolutely wonderful. This will be my go-to roll recipe from now on. My brother said they are better than my grandma's rolls and that is extremely high praise. I found it easier to divide the dough into 4 rounds, roll out a 12 inch round, and then cut into 8 pieces. I really like being able to make the dough so far ahead of time. It made cooking Christmas dinner so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gate City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made these rolls for Christmas dinner and I can say is "WOW"! They are so light and fluffy and delicious! I don't know how it happened, but I ended up with 32 rolls good sized rolls, instead of 16, but boy I am glad I had so many; I've never seen people eat so much bread! It was the hit of our Christmas meal. I will make these again and again. I think this will be my "go to" recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States