Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
I made this for a baby shower lucheon. The ladies loved it!! This recipe made me appear to be some kind of home made roll domestic goddess!! I got a call to make more the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
I made these rolls for Thanksgiving, and even stodgy old relatives raved! I didn't have any shortening, so I used all butter in the recipe, but they were still perfect. My little tip is to use a pizza roller to cut out the crescents...made it that much easier. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
You do have to make this in advance, but it is well worth the wait! The staff members I work with are such picky eaters, and yet, they all wanted this recipe! It is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
I made these rolls for a family gathering today and my children, neices and nephews were eating them as they came out of the oven. I don't consider myself a great yeast bread maker but this recipe is wonderful and so easy. I'm looking forward to making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
I usually go for the "bread machine" recipes, but this one caught my eye. My family loves it. It is easy to make and has a wonderful taste and texture. I mix honey and butter to glaze the top with after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This is a TREMENDOUS bread dough recipie! I didn't have baking potatoes on hand, so I made a cup of instant potatoes, and it was just as wonderful! I even used this as a basic bread recipie instead of making rolls, and it was great. I didn't let it rise in the fridge as specified, I let it rise in a warm place until it doubled--I was too impatient for it to rise overnight or for days! :) It is nice to know you can make it ahead, though. It is very kid-friendly--my kids had fun rolling up the crescent shapes, and they loved the soft rolls after they were cooked. Thanks, Colleen, for a wonderful recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
This bread is pretty great. I made it for Thanskgiving and everyone wanted the recipe. It was perhaps my finest work, and it wasn't real tough, though it did involve making a whole mess of the dough the day before and filling up the fridge. Still, the final product is outstanding. I didn't make them into crescent rolls, and I didn't add the butter at the end, but they were sitll great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Very tasty and high risers! The dough is very easy to handle. I would suggest cutting out some of the sugar if you intend to serve them as dinner rolls, but keep it as is if you want to make them into a sweet roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I used instant potato to make a cup of mash potato. I made it as cinnamon rolls instead of crescent rolls. Very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
I made these rolls today and they were wonderful. I cut down the sugar to 1/3 cup and I put the dough in the fridge and took part of it out to fix rolls for dinner tonight and they were excellent. I am saving the rest to fix tomorrow. These rolls have an excellent flavor and are quite easy to make, I just couldn't wait until to tomorrow to try them and am glad that I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States