Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made these rolls to go with our Thanksgiving dinner yesterday. I loved the fact that I could prepare the dough ahead of time and just let it rest in the fridge until about an hour and a half before we wanted to eat dinner. Everyone raved out how tender and tasty these were; in fact, my daughters and my fiancee have already asked me to make them again soon! Based on other reviews, I reduced the sugar to just under 1/2 cup and I'll probably cut it back even further (to 1/3 cup) next time. These will definitely be a regular in our house. Thanks for a great dinner roll recipe, Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very good roll recipe! Made for Thanksgiving, halved recipe (since i was cooking for 3) I cut the sugar to 1/4 c instead of 1/3 c. They were a big hit! My daughter who is not a huge fan of breads ate some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centralia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
These rolls turned out perfectly!! They were exactly what I was looking for- soft, fluffy, buttery, everyone loved them. I cut the rolls into bigger wedges than the recipe called for, thinking that 16 wedges would make them too small. But Next time I will do exactly as the recipe says, my rolls were huge!! Even though they look small to start with, they will raise really nicely and be the perfect size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These were really good. Light and fluffy, but I would not say they have the same flakiness as the ones you buy in the store. Still, they made amazing, very tender rolls. I used part of the dough to make cinnamon rolls which turned out fabulous as well. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I've tried at least half of the roll recipes on here and these are the best, hands down. The slow, cold rise lends a tenderness and softness that you just don't get from a rapid rise. As I am too impatient to wait most of the time, I double the recipe and use real butter instead of shortening. I've tried it with shortening and it does make a lighter roll but I dislike what hydrogenated fats do to your arteries. :o) I've used the dough to make pizza crusts (use less sugar), sweet rolls, dumplings, and popovers. Nothing ever survives the intial wave of gnoshing, hence the double recipe. My only other recommendation is to watch out for the thickness and size of your rolls. If they are cut too thick they can be a little doughy and/or overly browned on top. Thinner and smaller is better. A little brushed butter or egg wash never hurts either. I have plans to try a pretzel roll recipe with this dough in the future. If anyone else does so before me, please review about it. Try the other potato recipes if you want or save a few hours of experience and use this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Absolutely the softest roll I've found! Yummy flavor - this roll has it all. In keeping with our "healthier" cooking, used 3 cups whole wheat pastry flour, 1 cup almond meal/flour, and white bread flour for the remaining flour. Used butter flavored crisco (healthy?-no), which I mixed with the warm potato to soften/melt. Rose in warmed oven several hours, which was plenty, then punched down and used half for a meal. The other half went into the fridge for later. Don't forget to brush with butter before cooking, as it is just the buttery goodness these need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I'm honestly not sure how to rate this, so I'll do so in the middle. I had high hopes, because of all the reviews, but despite how beautiful they looked, they did not taste nearly as good. I cut the recipe in half and followed most of it. I reduced the sugar and used butter instead of shortening (seem not to have any). But all I'm left with is a very weird after taste, like milk. I'm not sure if the reduction in sugar would really make it taste so off, or what it was! Perhaps as a breakfast food, with jam and honey it will taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Have tried several bread roll recipes from this site. Love this one. Very easy. Turned out great. I tried this several ways, shaped into round rolls and also in muffing tin. Crescent shape is my preference for this. Will definately make again and again. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is delicious. The first time I made this, I used 2 parts whole wheat flour and 1 part all purpose flour to make it a little healthier. It was good, but after following the directions and using all purpose for all the flour...there was a big difference. After the cold rise it was double the size. I suppose that whole wheat doesn't work the same? I learned my lesson. These are so light and fluffy and soft! Yum! Came out beautiful. Next time I want to try and roll it with some dark chocolate and also try some others with cinnamon, raisins and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Good crescent rolls..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara.davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States