Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
It was good, but a little bland, even though I added plenty of salt when boiling the potatoes, in addition to the salt in the recipe. Next time I'll add a teaspoon more salt, or so. I used butter in place of shortening, and also substituted in a half cup of wheat flour. The dough was so sticky that I had to add plenty of oil to the bowl when rising so it wouldn't stick, then that kept it from being too sticky when I shaped the rolls. I made round rolls for breakfast instead of crescent rolls. I think I'll keep this recipe, since it's good for using up potatoes, but I'll also keep my eye out for a better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
Definitely a 5 star recipe. We needed a recipe to replace store bought roll dough for our favorite apple dumpling recipe, which we just finished using with this recipe. Wouldn’t change a thing in the recipe other than using instant potatoes. We made enough potatoes from instant potatoes to equal the potatoes in the recipe. We will not be buying crescent roll dough from the store again. Made a few rolls from the left over dough and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WLONG7317
Home Town: Pawnee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I made these rolls for Easter and they were fabulous! The only change I will make for next time is to sub. half of the shortening with butter for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
These are just as good as the reviews say! A nice tasting roll with many possibilities as to shape, and use. I especially liked making it the night before - it was so easy to make the rolls and we had already done most of the cleanup. I used instant potatoes as sugguested and they turned out fine. My kids loved rolling up the rolls, and brushing on the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
Absolutely *amazing* recipe! Incredibly easy to pull together, and turned out perfectly, even though I didn't have the required 8 hours and could only refrigerate them for 5. The texture and lightness was perfect and the flavour was fantastic. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! I made it once already, and am going to make another batch for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Excellent recipe. Followed directions as written. Turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
These are, quite simply, the BEST! It has become my standard recipe and brings raves wherever I bring them. The only downfall is that I have had to start making twice as many, as my husband will sneak most of them before they make it to the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Thank you, Thank you Colleen! I will never use another store bought roll again! This recipe made me look like a bread baking pro. These were buttery, light, fluffy, rose like a dream, melt in your mouth dinner rolls. I made these for Christmas Eve and again for Christmas Dinner, the cool rise method in the fridge allowed me to get the big prep out of the way and have hot, fresh rolls both nights. I used instant mashed potatoes, and half salted butter/half shortening. I debated about the amount of sugar after reading the other reviews, but I put in exactly what the recipe stated, and after trying the rolls, I felt it was the perfect amount. I brushed the tops with melted butter after rolling into shape, and brushed again after they came out of the oven (about 15 minutes for me). My family absolutely loved these rolls! In fact, no leftovers, so I will be making these again for New Years! Thanks Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I made this for Christmas Eve dinner. Everyone seemed to really like them, especially the kids. I am not really a bread eater so they weren't all that special to me, but I'll rate these based upong what everyone else said. The rolls were huge, fluffy and very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Oh my gosh! These were EXACTLY what I was looking for. They were light and fluffy on the inside and the taste was divine! I made them for my family for our Thanksgiving dinner and everyone gobbled them up. What little leftovers we had, the kids ate as snacks the next day! Thank you, Thank you! I will never buy packaged again :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States