Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
These are big hit. I made them once for Thanksgiving and now everyone asks for them every holiday. The time and effort are definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These are great! I make them for my son that is allergic to eggs. I use 1/4 cup apple sauce per egg, and they rise right and still taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I'm not sure where I went wrong with these, but they turned out very dense and chewy. They were also quite bland - I ended up covering one batch with rosemary garlic butter and another batch with cinnamon-clove-sugar butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made dinner rolls shaped into balls and used my kitchenaid mixer to knead the dough, everything else as written. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smurfette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Made this recipe and used as base for veggie pizza. It was a hit with the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I found these to be rather bland and dense. I have to be honest, I forgot to add the shortening, but I'm not sure that would have solved the bland taste. The dough rose wonderfully in the fridge, but I was in a hurry so I didn't do the full hour rise before baking (they did nearly triple in size in the oven). This could explain why I found them dense. Normally I would try the recipe again, but I found this one a bit too tedious, time consuming and messy too bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
It turned out great.... even though I forgot to add the sugar. I made it a second time and added the sugar and it was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
These are the best dinner rolls I have ever tasted. My family loves them and asks for them frequently. I have made them with and without the refridgerated rise and while they are very good without the slow, cold rise they are even better if the dough is refridgerated. Made this way they are even more delicate, tender and delicious. The only change I've made is after the first batch, I cut the sugar in half. Amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I made these rolls following the directions exactly and they were fantastic! I made the dough the night before, let it sit in the fridge overnight, and when I came down the next morning, it had actually risen. I wasn't sure if it was possible for dough to rise in the fridge, but this worked just fine! And the finished product tasted fantastic! My husband and I both got stomachaches from eating too many, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
These were really tasty. I doubled the recipe and used instant mashed potatoes, which worked great. I was cooking for a big party, so I had to maximize oven space and cook some on the top rack and some on the bottom. The ones on the top were too doughy on the bottom and the ones on the bottom were burned on the bottom. The perfect solution was just alternating racks halfway through. Other than these things I followed the recipe exactly and will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States