Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I just sampled one of these from the oven; yes I burned my tongue but it was so worth it. I've been baking rolls for 30 years and these rolls top any I've ever baked. The texture is melt in your mouth and the taste is old fashioned and delicious. Except for supplementing the potatoes with potato flakes, I followed the recipe exactly. I made a dozen big fluffy crescents and then a dozen & a half cinnamon rolls from the rest of the dough, using a brown sugar, cinnamon, and pecan filling and topping them with a powdered sugar glaze flavored with maple. These are a perfect 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
the dough was lovely and it was nice to have the flexibility of baking it "whenever." HOW THINLY IS THIS ROLLED OUT BEFORE FORMING INTO CRESCENTS?? could someone please help with the crescent shaping! a 12inch circle cut into 16 slices... mine ended up too skinny to roll into crescents. i ended up with really big rugalach looking things (and when they rose in the oven, WHOA they doubled in size and were shaped like giant pigs-in-blankets. not bad, but nothing like a crescent! i also needed a bit more flour than called for, and used 1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening. i sprinkled vanilla brown sugar and desicated (not sweetened) coconut over the butter before rolling, and brushed tops with beaten egg and sprinkled with more coconut before baking. very tasty. just not crescent shaped!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I really like this recipe. They looked beautiful and taste great. I followed the reciped exactly and the only complaint is that it took more flour than called for. I kept adding flour by the 1/2 cup and I probably had to add at least another full cup than called for. I agree with another reviewer that the flavor is lacking a bit. So, I think next time I'll use butter instead of shortening or use half of each. I made cinnamon rolls with the other half of dough. They turned out awesome! My husband said they were the best cinnamon rolls I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
These are great - we use the dough for crescent, dinner and especially cinnamon rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
quick, easy and so tasty! i've been looking for a recipe like this for quite some time. it's a keeper! and just a quick note--definitely don't leave it for more than 4 days or so because it will go bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I've started using this recipe whenever I need bread dough for anything except bread. I tried it first for crescent rolls and received much praise at Thanksgiving. I've since used this recipe with much success in cinnamon rolls and pizza dough as well. It is slightly sweet and extremely smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Very nice rolls, thank you! Rose beautifully, baked wonderfully, tasted fantastic! Since I was making a dinner roll, I too reduced the amount of sugar, next time I think I'll use the full amount, I have a feeling they'll taste even better! Perhaps in the future I'll try mixing in some crushed garlic with the butter before brushing the butter on.. garlic rolls, yum! Seriously, my kiddos and hubby loved these too and they were wolfed down in short time! Do what other reviewers suggested and use your pizza cutter to cut the wedges, works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
These rolls are soft, tender and delicious and also look very pretty on the dinner table! Very easy and convenient, too. I used all butter for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
These are AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatlesFan1964

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
Absolutely outstanding! So convenient to have fresh yeast rolls every night of the week if desired. The flavor was excellent and my family and friends thought they were the best ever. This recipe will stay will me forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States