Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Wow! Not much else to say. This was only the second or third time I made homemade bread and these turned out perfectly. I made about half of the dough into crescents and for the other half, I formed small balls and put them in a muffin pan - 3 per muffin. They were maybe the best rolls I've ever had - including restaurant rolls. My 4 year old said his favorite part of dinner was the "muffin rolls".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Very tasty and versatile recipe! Very easy for a newbie to pull off too. I didn't let the dough rest as long as was suggested (8 hours or more), but it came out great all the same. Just be aware that the recipe makes a LOT of these rolls, so make sure you have plenty of friends or family over to help eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
These were wonderful! I too cooked them the same day. I let the dough rise for an hour in the oven with the light on. Shaped them into crescents. Let them rise again for an hour. Voila! Wonderful rolls. Next time, I would decrease the sugar a bit, if I wanted something a little less dessert like. An awesome recipe )and I'm often not the best with breads!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justme

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Extremely Versatile! These turned out exactly as I imagined they would...only better! I agree with other reviewers that you have to watch them a bit, but as ovens vary it's always good to keep an eye on a new addition to the family recipe box. I use these instead of refrigerated dough as it is unavailable where I live. This will come out perfectly whether you are using it for Pigs 'n a Blanket or for Cinnamon Rolls. This, like any good pie crust recipe, is a wonderful canvas for the create cook's imagination. It isn't as much work as it seems, and is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Fab-U-lous!!!! I am very critical of my bread attempts and this one was excellent to my own palette. Okay, if you are using this as a crescent roll/dinner recipe: up the salt to at least 2 tsp. I will use 2 1/4 tsp. next time. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Delish! The rolls were soft and fluffy and my family loved it so much. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Absolutely love this recipe. My husband, the picky one, has dubbed it his favorite. I had to turn the heat down on the oven as it browned way too fast. I did add sugar to the yeast to cause foaming. I also used butter rather than shortning and added quite a bit more flour than called for. I was in a hurry and didn't put this in the fridge at all. I let it rise on the table and then baked. It was perfect! Made them into blueberry pastries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
everyone ate up these rolls so fast. they were so easy to make. i even made some without eggs and used water instead of milk, and didn't cover them in buttar,since my daughter is has allergies, and they still turned out wonderful. I bake all the time and these are the best Potato rolls that I've tried yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I love these rolls. I first made them for Thanksgiving and everyone really enjoyed them. This is an excellent recipe and so much easier than I expected making crescent rolls would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States