Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I made these for a play date with some other moms and their kids. I made them without the eggs as one child is allergic and used butter flavoured shortening. I only made 1/2 a recipe and rolled 1/2 of the dough around hot dogs for pigs in a blanket and 1/2 just as regular crescents. They were really good, I would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
It's true...these rolls are fantastic. I made mine with half whole wheat flour and they turned out soft and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I really liked this recipe - so versatile! I made crescent rolls & Clone of a Cinnabon (also from this site). Both are fantastic! Made 2 pans of crescent rolls - the first I made at 400 and they baked too quickly and got a little dark - the 2nd pan I reduced to 375 and they were much better. I will definitely be making these again! Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This recipe is extremely easy to follow and the rolls came out nicely. I followed the recipe to the letter. I am only giving it 4 stars because they were not as sweet as we like them and because they were extremely heavy/dense. Otherwise, very tasty and I will definitely make them again using a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bucket of cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
very very good the only 2 things I did was I add 1 Tablespoon of wheat gluten,I didn't let my potato get cool,I did add 1 more teaspoons of salt. They are so so soft,tasty I made Crescent Rolls and Cinnamon rolls,Conchas a (Mexican Sweet Bread) all out of this recipe. THANKS TERRY137
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
You know... I make a lot of breads and rolls, but after my husband tasted these he said, "You can make these from now on." He loved them! I used instant mashed potatoes instead of boiling my own (only because I was all out of fresh) and they still tasted wonderful. I also loved how they rose in the fridge. These are so light and fluffy. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This recipe has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
These were so amazing! I used half whole wheat flour and they were still light and fluffy and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
These rolls are fantastick, I'm going to say 5 star. I brought them to a family dinner and asked everyone to rate them. I added a bunch of spices to soft butter and spread it onto each round before cutting and rolling them up, I thought the spices were great, but my very picky in-laws don't like seasoned food very well. They say 4 star, but I'm going to say 5 because I know if I wouldn't have spiced them they would've said 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Wow, this is wonderful! I have been baking bread and rolls for special occasions for years and this is now my new recipe. I replaced the shortening with Becel margarine for extra flavor and otherwise followed the recipe as stated. I've been waiting to write the review as I froze a batch on a cookie sheet then placed them in a freezer bag once frozen. When We were ready for more, I took a few out, covered them on a parchment lined cookie sheet and let them rise for about 4hrs. They were just as good as the first time, the freezing didn't effect them one bit. Thanks for sharing, it's great to have these all made in advance and to be able to take them out as needed. I should add that I used my pasta roller attachment for my kitchenaid to roll the dough. Probably why I wouldn't mind making tons at a time as it was so easy to make this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States