Collards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
Grumpy Grannie you sho put your foot in these greens, I fixed them for 15 people and they all said they were the best. There were no left overs Thank you for all your help. mjmfilms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Awesome greens!!! I made them just as the recipe said but did not use any potatoes. They turned out great! This will definatly be my new collard greens recipe. Thanks so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
These collards were delicious! I've been searching for a good stand by recipe for greens and this will be it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I left out the potatoes and apple cider vinegar in place of the red wine vinegar. DELICIOUS! I cook collard greens pretty often because they are extremely nutritious, but I had never tried using vinegar. Thank you!!! I also found that mine cooked to my desired tenderness in about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Very good recipe for collard greens. I did not use the potatoes, I added cidar vinegar, chicken stock and crushed red pepper flakes to the boiling water. Added garlic along with the onions and bacon. This recipe was a very good starting point and I'm glad I found it. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Since I am pregnant and trying to follow an organic diet as much as possible, I left out the onions to avoid the heartburn and used only 1 tbls of artificial bacon bits instead of actual bacon. To amp up the taste a bit in the bacon's absence I added 2 cubes of organic vegetable bullion. Since I had no red wine vinegar I substituted balsamic vinegar and white wine vinegar. Obviously I strayed from the recipe significantly but it turned out delicious. The bacon would have been tastier, but this more heart healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This recipe is very good. I never tried collards before, and I was glad someone posted this recipe on the website. I didn't have red wine vinegar, so I substituted with Apple Cider Vinegar... IT WAS FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Sorry to copy review, but LINAGNEL72' method is the one I used. Also we used too much water along with chicken broth and the flavor was diluted. So at the table I added garlic salt and hot sauce and this spiced it up just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This is the first time I've ever prepared collards myself, and had only sampled them a few times. I found this dish to be just okay. The vinegar seemed a little overpowering. Cooking them for so long just seemed to take away any taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
The best way to eat greens! Try it and see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States