Collard-Kielbasa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Made this in the crock pot and it turned out wonderful and thick. Used fresh (instead of frozen) collard greens that I needed to use up. Kept everything pretty much the same as called for and it was wonderful. Don't really need too much salt or pepper. The main ingredients provide enough natural seasoning and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Great recipe! Everyone in the family loved it. Makes a big pot of thick, hearty soup/stew. If too thick for your liking add an extra cup of water. Not much tweaking needed...only added an extra clove of garlic. Bacon was too soft, so next time I'll cook the bacon until crisp, remove from pan and then saute the onion, green pepper and garlic. Don't dice the potatoes too small or they'll break apart when cooked. Would also be good with black-eyed peas. Definitely a great tasting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DM COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This definitely is a hearty soup. A great way to use collard greens. It was a bit on the thick side, an extra cup of water with 1 tsp. of beef granules made it perfect, or I should say to our liking. We shall make this dish again during the winter months. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Loved the heartiness of this. Made a pot of it to take into work for a pot luck and it went quick, no leftovers to take home. I like my food a little on the spicy side so I added about 1/4 - 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes and cumin while sautéing the onion and bell pepper and also added some beef granules to another batch for added flavor. This recipe is great and easy to make and adjust to your taste buds and is also a winner for the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Cooked this soup just as the recipe states and it was great!! I'm even from the South and it passed our Southern taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was very good! Instead of water, I used reduced-sodium/fat free chicken broth, and instead of regular smoked sausage, I used turkey smoked sausage. I didn't have any bacon, so I left that out. Instead of frozen collard greens, I used about 12-13 oz of fresh chopped collards. I put it in the crockpot on high for 2 1/2 hours but that wasn't long enough, so I put it on the stove for another 30 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Delicious soup and a great way to use collard greens! Came out great in the crockpot! Fried 4 slices of bacon, onion and garlic, drained and put in bottom of crockpot. In same pan (minus the bacon fat!) i sliced up one pound of lite kielbasa, put cut and washed collard greens on top and let it cook down a few minutes. Added that to crockpot. To the crockpot I added 2 cut up potatoes, poured 1 container chicken broth over all of it, and cooked on low for 6 hours. Unbelievably delicious and even better the next day. Next time I would cut potatoes a little smaller, and maybe add carrots. You don't need any salt if you make it in the crockpot, the kielbasa and bacon are salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
The total cooking turns the potatoes to mush; great if you want them to act as a thickener. I planned ahead, cut them in good sized pieces and added them during the last 15 minutes. This is really a stick-to-your-ribs meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I was looking for a way to use up fresh collard greens and didn't have very high expectations. But this was a big hit at my house. I used dried beans so I added them with the kolbassi. I had canned diced potatoes so used them instead of fresh. Like other reviewers, this got really thick especially the second day for leftovers, so have a can of chicken broth on hand to thin it down. That worked great for us. As with most soups, this was even better the second day. There was plenty for two dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was the best soup! When I saw it I was a little un-sure cause it's doesn't look highly appealing. But the taste made up for that! I changed it up a little by adding like the other lady said (water) and some hot sauce... Give it a little personality of your own. But all the around it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States