Collard-Kielbasa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was very good! Instead of water, I used reduced-sodium/fat free chicken broth, and instead of regular smoked sausage, I used turkey smoked sausage. I didn't have any bacon, so I left that out. Instead of frozen collard greens, I used about 12-13 oz of fresh chopped collards. I put it in the crockpot on high for 2 1/2 hours but that wasn't long enough, so I put it on the stove for another 30 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
i used dry beans instead of canned but i should have cooked them alone first i will try again i skipped the pork and potatoes too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebony
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This soup was excellent! I didn't have any collard greens, so I used spinach instead. Did not add bacon, tasted great without it. Added one more clove of garlic, some red pepper flakes and a little beef bouillon to give the both more flavor. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Made this in the crock pot and it turned out wonderful and thick. Used fresh (instead of frozen) collard greens that I needed to use up. Kept everything pretty much the same as called for and it was wonderful. Don't really need too much salt or pepper. The main ingredients provide enough natural seasoning and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was the best soup! When I saw it I was a little un-sure cause it's doesn't look highly appealing. But the taste made up for that! I changed it up a little by adding like the other lady said (water) and some hot sauce... Give it a little personality of your own. But all the around it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I've made this recipe a couple of times and that was the first time I've ever eaten collard greens and I thought it was great. My teenage kids even liked it. I've used turkey bacon and kielbasa, and I couldn't find frozen collard greens so I used fresh bagged ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANN QUEBERG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, Ohio, USA
Living In: Spencer, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Loved the heartiness of this. Made a pot of it to take into work for a pot luck and it went quick, no leftovers to take home. I like my food a little on the spicy side so I added about 1/4 - 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes and cumin while sautéing the onion and bell pepper and also added some beef granules to another batch for added flavor. This recipe is great and easy to make and adjust to your taste buds and is also a winner for the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Great recipe! Everyone in the family loved it. Makes a big pot of thick, hearty soup/stew. If too thick for your liking add an extra cup of water. Not much tweaking needed...only added an extra clove of garlic. Bacon was too soft, so next time I'll cook the bacon until crisp, remove from pan and then saute the onion, green pepper and garlic. Don't dice the potatoes too small or they'll break apart when cooked. Would also be good with black-eyed peas. Definitely a great tasting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DM COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This definitely is a hearty soup. A great way to use collard greens. It was a bit on the thick side, an extra cup of water with 1 tsp. of beef granules made it perfect, or I should say to our liking. We shall make this dish again during the winter months. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
would hsve been better without the potatoes and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States