Collard-Kielbasa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Delicious soup and a great way to use collard greens! Came out great in the crockpot! Fried 4 slices of bacon, onion and garlic, drained and put in bottom of crockpot. In same pan (minus the bacon fat!) i sliced up one pound of lite kielbasa, put cut and washed collard greens on top and let it cook down a few minutes. Added that to crockpot. To the crockpot I added 2 cut up potatoes, poured 1 container chicken broth over all of it, and cooked on low for 6 hours. Unbelievably delicious and even better the next day. Next time I would cut potatoes a little smaller, and maybe add carrots. You don't need any salt if you make it in the crockpot, the kielbasa and bacon are salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Just want to add that you don't need a lot of salt as the Kielbasa and Bacon add enough. I added some before tasting, and it didn't need the extra salt. Also, I only used one can of beans, and fresh collards..it came out delicious! The green peppers ads a nice flavor too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
this recipe is very good it even surprized my husband how good it is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
The total cooking turns the potatoes to mush; great if you want them to act as a thickener. I planned ahead, cut them in good sized pieces and added them during the last 15 minutes. This is really a stick-to-your-ribs meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I made this sans meat with some mushroom stock. Very hearty and very good. Added some red pepper flakes and it was good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Cooked this soup just as the recipe states and it was great!! I'm even from the South and it passed our Southern taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I was looking for a way to use up fresh collard greens and didn't have very high expectations. But this was a big hit at my house. I used dried beans so I added them with the kolbassi. I had canned diced potatoes so used them instead of fresh. Like other reviewers, this got really thick especially the second day for leftovers, so have a can of chicken broth on hand to thin it down. That worked great for us. As with most soups, this was even better the second day. There was plenty for two dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
So good! I made this for a New Year's Party and it was a hit. I used black eyed peas instead of the northern beans. A little hot sauce and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Seriously, this recipe is a "must-try"! I made this exactly as written with collard greens from our weekly CSA box, and my husband and I both enjoyed this very much. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was easy and very filling. I felt good about feeding it to my family and even the littlest one liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrook, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States