Collard-Kielbasa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
We have been making this for years. It is easy, delicious, and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Delicious soup! I only used 1 pkg of turkey kielbasa. Also, I needed to use up a 10-oz. bag of fresh spinach, so I used that instead of collard greens. Perfect! There was plenty for hubby and I to have seconds and enough leftover for another meal. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made this and its a wonderful soup recipe... I used Conecuh sausage but, almost any sausage will do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I'm eating a bowl right now. Yummy! I used home made chicken broth instead of the water, and hot (spicy) smoked sausage. I used fresh collards, removing the stems first, and added the collards 15 minutes before adding the potatoes, then cooked another 20-25 minutes before adding the remaining ingredients. I also used 4 cloves of garlic, because this really does make a big pot of stew, and the garlic won't be overpowering. I'll be freezing individual bowls of this, and I look forward to having more another day when I'm too busy to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Amazing - totally different way to enjoy Collards! Only change I made was the using chicken broth for water (and more of it) and the meat - since we had leftover ham along with a few potatoes I needed to use and a bunch of fresh greens. (oops - my greens were fresh too) I made it all together in a pot on the stove, then put the whole thing in the crockpot on low for a great "eat as you pass by" pre-Christmas-shopping meal." One last thing - DON'T forget the green pepper portion of the dish - I almost did, it was the only thing I had to out for on the list, but it is essential to the total taste of the soup. Again - just amazing - and so nice to have a second way to serve greens that totally switches them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight. I used fresh collard greens.I left out the bacon.It was great1 My husband and I both enjoyed it. I made a half recipe. It will be enough for two meals.I added an extra cup or so of chicken broth halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I am trying to figure out how the heck anyone made this soup with only 1 quart of water! I ended up using about 5 times that- even after the collards cooked down the soup resembeled just a big pot of moist veggies. I ended up having to transfer the whole thing to a much larger pot just to accomodate the extra water I had to add just to make this look like soup. Since the water diluted all the flavor from the kielbasa ( I also had cut that down to one package like a previous review recommended),I had to throw in a bunch of beef bouillon cubes to give the broth more flavor. Also, I would recommend just cooking the bacon separately, removing the bacon from the pan then sauteeing the onion, garlic and green pepper in the bacon grease. I wasn't able to get the bacon crisp cooking it with the onion and pepper, which added a lot of extra moisture. All in all I like the ingredients and concept, but the recipe definately needs tweeking to get a decent bowl of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
The proportions of kielbasa are too high and out "12" servings was enough for 4, but w/a ton of extra meat. I'd half the meat suggestions next time. Also, I combined the ingredients more quickly than they said to save time and it was still a wonderful, yummy soup - and I'm glad I didn't waste the extra 45 mins. cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
What a great recipe! It is always hard to find recipes for extra collard greens, but this one is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Made the crockpot version and loved it. Extremely tasty when following the recipe exactly. It's a little greasy because of the sausage, but the taste is worth the splurge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States