Collard Greens with White Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This was a good way to eat collards. I sauteed my onions and garlic in olive oil rather than water, and I only used 1/2 a cup of water after that. It was plenty. I also left out the bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
this was really yummy! Reminded me of something my grandma used to make when I was a little girl. Instead of using all the water I just use one can that I got from the canned tomatoes and it turned out wonderful thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. TeeJay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Wonderful! How am I, 30-years a vegetarian, just now discovering the flavor and texture and affordability and how to prepare collard greens? Don't be afraid, just try this recipe. The ingedients combine for a unique, memorable meal. Yes, I parsed the liquid until greens were cooked al dente; also added some chopped jalapenos and used high-protein cannelloni beans. A great entree and definitely a take-to dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This was so incredibly delicious!! After I ate this, I felt so like I had so much more energy to think and do everything I needed to. I made it for my husband when he was not feeling well and we both felt so much better, more energized, and happier afterwards. I think it was a good, healthy meal that gave our bodies much more energy to heal! I'd definitely recommend it. I would say it needed more salt(try sea salt! It's great.), and I also added McCormick's Garlic Salt to it after, which really added to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I didn't find this recipe fast as suggested. It took over 30 minutes of cooking plus preparation for a side dish. I followed the recipe exactly except I used an equal amount of frozen collards. For some reason after all of the cooking time, I felt the collards still had quite a bit of a bite to them. I guess, I will only use fresh from now on. I never tried the frozen before. After it was done, it badly needed salt of some kind. I had some Adobo seasoning on my stove so I sprinkled some on. It wasn't bad, but not a repeat a recipe. Just missing the texture and flavor for me. However, a nutritionist would give this 2 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
It was surprisingly good. I didn't have the vegan bouillon so I used a Knorr bouillon. It was perfect. Doubling the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was a tasty and healthy side for pork chops. A few minor changes: I used a 1lb. bag of chopped fresh collards and used a 1/2 c. of chicken broth to replace the water and bouillon cube. Ohtherwise, followed it to a T! Flavorful, healthy, and easy makes this a recipe for the file. Everyone loved this! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is such an easy and delicious recipe. I followed the recipe with two minor exceptions: I used chicken bouillon because that is what I had on hand and also reduced the amount of water (used about 3/4 cup). The recipe was fantastic and the leftovers were even great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
insaneley easey and delish!!! i mean who would think you could actually like collard greens or white beans for that matter! to wash the collards though i highly reccomend filling a sink with water and letting em soak for an hour to make sure all the grit is removed. you'll be amazed by how much sand are trapped in these leaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Wotton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States