Collard Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
First time ever trying to make my own greens. Even my kids enjoyed them!Excellent flavor!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mother jack
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I made spinach and beans - homemade cornbread and pork center chop marmalade citrus and Dijon mustard!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GELOGENIC
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Partner said this actually let him enjoy collard greens. I was absolutely gobsmacked that I enjoyed it! Per reviews, used chicken broth in place of water and added sausage along with the beans to make it more of a main dish. What really added some umph! was mixing the red pepper flakes, sugar, and cider vinegar at the very start. The vinegar was infused with the spiciness by the time it went in to the pot. I've tried various ways to like collard greens and end up throwing away most of a yucky recipe. Thanks to this recipe, we won't be struggling over what to do with the collard greens that appear so often in our weekly CSA box. We didn't just tolerate it - we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I only gave this 4 stars because when I made it as is, we didn't like prefer it as much with the brown sugar. I now make it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I made this last night and it was a big hit with my Tennessee born husband. I pretty much followed this recipe except for the bacon and used chicken stock instead of water. I substituted a smoked ham hock for bacon and made half a recipe. Only used a tiny bit of red pepper flakes. At the end, I added some smoked beef sausage cut into bite sized pieces and it made a complete meal. Next time I will use the bacon. I think the vinegar and brown sugar is what makes this recipe stand out. A good basic recipe, easy to make and I thank you. Did not use sour cream or parm. cheese as I think that would make it more Italian than Southern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I had never had Collard Greens before but saw them on sale and bought them. I made this recipe....delicious. I am hooked.Have made it 3 times, Delicious everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Pretty tasty recipe! Next time, though, I think I'll skip the red pepper flakes. It was so hot it was tough to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Made a vegetarian version, using olive oil to cook the onions and garlic, and vegetable stock in place of water to make up for the missing flavor from the bacon. Still turned out amazing! A great healthy meal served over brown rice or quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I've made this recipe twice, and both times my partner and I really enjoyed it. I start with whole bacon b/c they're easier to remove and then crumble them up later. Also, the first time I tried this I had more than 5 cups of collards, which I preferred (I'm a veggie lover). The second time I used closer to 5 cups (eye-balled), and after it cooked down, I wished there were more greens. Also, with the bacon, I don't think adding more salt is necessary. Overall, it's a great recipe that I think is fairly flexible in terms of quantity, type of bean used, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was fantastic. When I read the recipe I didn't understand how something this simple could be so good. It was a huge hit with my husband and little one as well. I served it over rice with a side of cornbread and it was a nice dinner on a cool October evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States