Collard Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I made this last night and it was a big hit with my Tennessee born husband. I pretty much followed this recipe except for the bacon and used chicken stock instead of water. I substituted a smoked ham hock for bacon and made half a recipe. Only used a tiny bit of red pepper flakes. At the end, I added some smoked beef sausage cut into bite sized pieces and it made a complete meal. Next time I will use the bacon. I think the vinegar and brown sugar is what makes this recipe stand out. A good basic recipe, easy to make and I thank you. Did not use sour cream or parm. cheese as I think that would make it more Italian than Southern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I had never had Collard Greens before but saw them on sale and bought them. I made this recipe....delicious. I am hooked.Have made it 3 times, Delicious everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Pretty tasty recipe! Next time, though, I think I'll skip the red pepper flakes. It was so hot it was tough to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Made a vegetarian version, using olive oil to cook the onions and garlic, and vegetable stock in place of water to make up for the missing flavor from the bacon. Still turned out amazing! A great healthy meal served over brown rice or quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I've made this recipe twice, and both times my partner and I really enjoyed it. I start with whole bacon b/c they're easier to remove and then crumble them up later. Also, the first time I tried this I had more than 5 cups of collards, which I preferred (I'm a veggie lover). The second time I used closer to 5 cups (eye-balled), and after it cooked down, I wished there were more greens. Also, with the bacon, I don't think adding more salt is necessary. Overall, it's a great recipe that I think is fairly flexible in terms of quantity, type of bean used, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was fantastic. When I read the recipe I didn't understand how something this simple could be so good. It was a huge hit with my husband and little one as well. I served it over rice with a side of cornbread and it was a nice dinner on a cool October evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Magnificent recipie. Love the creaminess of the beans. So easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barneybbarbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was awesome. I actually made this vegetarian by skipping the bacon completely. I ended up doubling the water and the amount of cider vinegar in order to cover my greens. I didn't have any red pepper flakes, so I used a teaspoon of cajun seasoning instead. I simmered it for about an hour. The flavor was amazing even without the bacon! No leftovers at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I read the reviews and did a few variations based on that. I used 4 slices of turkey bacon on account of my family not eating pork but it left very little fat in the pan. Before adding the onion, I added about a tablespoon of butter and sauteed the onion in that and whatever crusty turkey bacon bits stuck on the pan. Instead of water I used vegetable broth (what I had on hand) but accidentally flooded my greens. I read the liquid should just cover them but missed the 3/4 cup in the ingredients list, oops. I also used closer to a tablespoon of red pepper flakes (just eyeballed it) on account of my family loving spice. We ate this over brown rice and the flooded greens gave it a soupy consistency that we all liked. I'll definitely repeat this one and I'll watch how much broth I add next time (although no one disliked it as I made it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
My husband was so bummed there wasn't more of this. I used more bacon (at least six rashers) regular onion too since we didn't have red, and chicken stock, and we only simmered about 45 minutes to an hour. Next time I'll make two or three bunches of collards and triple everything else. Really good light main meal with the extra luxury of bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States