Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
i used olive oil,1/3 cup of sugar and premade coleslaw.good recipe with seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I'm sorry, but this really was not good. I made it in hopes of duplicating a local restaurant's recipe which I know contains the same ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I use this recipe (with less sugar when I'm eating it) for nearly all of my raw vegetable salad dishes. Sometimes I chop cucumber, carrot, crushed garlic and tomato and add the oil, vinegar and sugar. For spice, I might add one or more of the following: chili pepper, herbs de provance, oregano, celery seed, pepper flakes, ancho chili powder. When making the slaw with cabbage I use the red kind because it's so beautiful but it does need to to sit for a day as the cabbage needs time to absorb the acid of the vinegar and breakdown some of the "rubbery squeakiness" on the teeth. I also add about a teaspoon of some fresh herb (yesterday it was parsley). I think it needs some green herb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I don't like cabbage so I used lettuce and I didn't like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
good job but i have seen better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Pretty good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This recipe needs a little something else. Not as sweet as some and not as tangy as the southern kind that goes with BBQ. I'd have to side with those that said it is nothing special. Maybe I will try again with rice vinegar as some suggest. Thanks for contributing the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This recipe is acceptable but unremarkable. Its a bit bland. I made it because I wanted something healthy and low fat. I used less dressing than suggested and like others I cut back on the sugar. I used more veggies also. I used a red cabbage, more carrots, red pepper, cucumber and this made it look better and its healthier. I am going to look for a dressing which is also low fat and calorie but a little tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Perfect and easy - I try to avoid demon refined sugar so I'll skip the sugar, use half the oil and use sweet red onions to give a bit of sweetness back. If Balsamic didn't ruin the aestehtic I'd use that instead of regular vinegar...the tarragon idea was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Substitue 4 tablespoons Splenda in place of sugar. Good classic recipe, easy, easy, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States