Coleslaw with Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I'm not a huge fan of coleslaw but I needed a recipe to use up a bag of shredded cabbage I had. I chose this because I thought the peas would add a little extra nutrition for my kids. It was actually pretty good. The recipe did not specify type of mustard to use and I only had yellow, so I used that. Maybe next time I'll try brown. The peanuts added a great crunch and the peas added nice color. (I left the peanuts whole.) I will use this in place of any other coleslaw recipe if the I need to make coleslaw again arises.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I've had this recipe in my file for a long time and never made it. I had a huge head of cabbage in the fridge and looking for a way to use it. I thought I'd try this for a different change of pace. It was delicious. My husband and I both love curry flavor, so this was right up our ally. Here are my changes: add a small tart apple cut into little pieces, use only about 1 cup of peas tops, less salt, toast the peanuts to bring out the flavor. I also added a little fennel seed. My husband and I ate almost the whole batch just the two of us it was so good. I made it again the next night because I still had more cabbage to use up. Brought the leftovers to a neighbor and she called exclaiming how much she liked it. I think it would be great to take to a potluck because it's different. It holds up well too. Still good after a day in the fridge. If you need to thaw peas in a hurry, just put them in a bowl and run hot water over them from the tap. It thaws them out without cooking them. I hope more people try this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
It was okay....not enough flavor, maybe more curry next time or hot! I did use the brocoli slaw for more of a crunch which was nice. I like the idea of the peanuts and peas. I have added frozen peas (thawed) to salads/slaws before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNIKOLAISEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manchester, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Great dressing. I used Old-Style Prepared Mustard (with the seeds still in.) Took me all of five minutes to make and turned out to be a great snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
We really liked it (including our kids), I was actually kinda surprised. I wanted a "different" slaw and this fit the bill with what I had on hand. Quick, easy, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REALCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
We really enjoyed this coleslaw. The curry powder added an interesting blend to the dressing. I like that you add the peanuts right before serving as this kept the peanuts nice and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Great tasting coleslaw! I will cut down on the dressing next time, but the taste was wonderful, so might just double the peas, cabbage and peanuts. I used raw peanuts in this; there is plenty of salt in the mayonnaise and mustard, so didn't need it in the peanuts. This is so good that I have already made it more than once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
3 1/2 stars... good, different, but i've had better coleslaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
My husband HATES mayo based slaws, but this one he loves. Curry powder makes all the difference... go figure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Refreshing twist to ordinary coleslaw! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States