Coleslaw I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Yum! I just recently started liking coleslaw (past 6 months or so), and decided to give it a try. I wanted a simple recipe that I couldn't screw up! And this was the one! I just kind of eyeballed the amount of mayo, but I did measure the vinegar and sugar. It turned out delicious, maybe a tad on the sweet side, but I did use a couple of carrots so that may be why. I will definitely make again, just use less sugar? Husband and kids were very impressed with moms first attempt at coleslaw, thanks for the recipe. Has anyone tried to freeze it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ashton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made this slaw exactly as the recipe. I used natural apple cider vinegar and good ingredients. It was vinegar bitter! thick saucy dressing. I added more sugar to try to balance the flavors and it was not as terrible as original recipe, but still not good. I'll never make this recipe again. Yuck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Denise, Thanks for the amazing cole slaw recipe. This was my first time of making cole slaw and it turned out wonderful. So I will be using your recipe for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Fenton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I made this on the lighter side by using lite mayo and 0 calorie sweetener. I paired it with a BBQ. meat loaf, mixed veggies with garlic butter. Delish. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I agree that there is too much vinegar. I recommend cutting back to 3/4 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Better than any store bought coleslaw I have ever had. I enjoyed the sweetness and tardiness that came from the cider vinegar. Will definitely be making this fast and easy coleslaw instead of buying it from winco from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Almost as good as my Grand Mum's coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FreshPrincessDi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terri
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I used an extra carrot and omitted the sugar & I used apple cruder vinegar. Tastes like it could use a little something else..... Maybe celery seed?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I omitted the onion flakes and added toasted sesame seeds. I also used red cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Great base recipe. I cut the vinegar to 1/3 cup and cut the sugar to 1/3 cup. Used 2 medium carrots and a 1/4 of a small yellow onion (all shredded in the food processor). I also added a sprinkling of celery seeds. It tasted really good and we couldn't think of anything to improve upon it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States