Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
very nice and simple too. I used red onion and a mix of red and green cabbage, it came out excellent. I cut the sugar a bit little more then 3/4, I think next time I would cut it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaelc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I've been making this recipe for several years and everyone LOVES it! I sometimes use white balsamic vinegar and it's still a hit.. My husband uses the smoker ALL day, smoking delicious meats, but I receive all the compliments on the cole slaw! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
LOVED IT!!! I only used red and green cabbage and added some pepper and celery salt. It tasted just like the slaw at Giordano Brothers here in San Francisco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hwblairjr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I make this but I use a bag of coleslaw (with the red cabbage and carrots). I then mix together 1/3 c seasoned rice vinegar, 1.5 tbsp of sugar, 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, 5 drops of sesame oil, with a sprinkle of salt and pepper to taste.Pour over cole slaw mix and mix well. It comes out perfect all the time and takes only minutes to make. You should let it sit in the fridge for a couple of hours to 'marinade'. Its also low in fat since I don't use a cup of oil. I like to add shredded chicken and sliced almonds when I bring it as lunch to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Surprisingly, this is not too much sugar or oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I was thinking I would try to substitute stevia for the white sugar. Stevia is much sweeter than sugar for the same amount, so I'd have to adjust the amount but I need to test it as sometimes stevia works really well in a recipe and other times not so much. If stevia works then the calories would go way down to nothing nearly and you could enjoy a lot more cole slaw - I'll get back to you all with the results of my test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Very few of the recipe reviews are helpful because most people alter them. There are as many alterations as there are reviews. I never know how the original recipe came out. It would be nice if more people could make the original recipe first and then make the changes and write reviews. I guess I will just have to do that myself. But there is too much sugar in this one without making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I found it too sweet and halve the sugar. Also add good shaking of celery seed. This should cure overnight to allow celery seed to flavoe. I make the dressing separately in a piny jar and use on store bought packages of Cole slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedHotTarheel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
pretty good recipe.I like to use honey for the sweetener instead of sugar,realize sugar is sugar but honey does give my cole slaw a nice flavor.Also use a lot less vinegar and NO vegetable oil but the added vege's are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States