Cole Porter Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I had to make some changes, based on what I had, but I thought this was great! I used white sugar instead of brown and white vinegar instead of apple cider (I didn't have either of the ingredients, unfortunately.) I thought the mustard added a nice tang and the onion was a nice, but not overpowering touch. I will certainly make this again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This is my new go-to recipe for traditional-style cole slaw. The mustard gives it 'pop', while the apple cider vinegar comes through subtly by nicely. I used yellow mustard instead of dijon (for the kids)...it worked great, but I want to try the dijon. I also left out buttermilk (didn't have any handy) and used coconut sap sugar for the sweetner. Personally I'll back off on the sweetner next time and perhaps add a tiny bit more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This was so awesome and easy! My husband made it to put on top of the Slow Cooker Pulled Pork with root beer and it was perfect! This will definitely be our coleslaw recipe from now on. We made it exactly as it said (surprisingly, we had everything on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I was very leery of the brown sugar, but after it was all mixed it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Deeelicious! Made it exactly as written, except i only had dark brown sugar. I do not like cole slaw that is too sweet, and this was a nice balance between tangy and sweet. This is my go-to cole slaw recipe from now on. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Manus Kuepker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was pretty good, although I didn't have everything. I subsituted apple cider vingar for Balsomic and Dijon mustard for Goldens. It was a nice twist. I gave this 3 stars cause I didnt have everything, I'm sure this would deserve 5 if I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbynme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This coleslaw is amazing. The dressing is tangy and has a bit of a pop from the dijon. Many of the commentators didn't use buttermilk, I think the buttermilk is definitely great in this. The only change I made was to make my own cole slaw mix from fresh veggies - 1/2 a very small red cabbage, 1/2 a medium green cabbage, and 2 good sized carrots. I used an 1/8" slice on the mandolin for the cabbage and the julienne setting for the carrots. My husband took a taste before dinner and asked me why we ever buy cole slaw from the store. We won't anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was excellent! I didn't have buttermilk so used 2% milk and used 1/4 cup non-fat plain yogurt and 1/2 cup light mayo instead of the 3/4 cup mayo in the recipe. Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Easy and delicious! Took this to our small group and one of the ladies who said she normally doesn't eat coleslaw said it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Absolutely FABULOUS. After making this, I don't think I can ever eat store bouught again. I didn't have some items so I substituted. I used rice wine vinegar, red onion, garlic aoili mustard and dark brown sugar. I think the buttermilk and mustard really makes this recipe special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States