Cold Tuna Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I made this recipe as instructed and it was very good. I made it again for a quick dinner and made a few changes, which are just my personal preferences. After the pasta was cooked I added the Italian dressing, 1/2 cup finely chopped onion and the celery, salt and pepper and put it in the fridge to chill. I also mixed the tuna with 1/2 cup mayo first and then added it. Then I added 2 hard boiled eggs chopped and I used grape tomatoes halved. I left out the sugar, because I don't think you need it. I served mine on romaine lettuce leaves with melon. Very good - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swayzee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
My mom makes a salad very similar to this. It's a great lunch on a hot summer day. I changed some things up. I used Miracle Whip rather than mayo b/c it has more zip to it. I didn't add tomatoes b/c I didn't have any, so I added some peas instead. Also added a little garlic and onion powder to taste. This needs to sit in the fridge for a couple hours to let the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Verrry good! Would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orosi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This looked so unappetizing that no one in my family even dared to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Wow this is my grangmothers recipe she passed down to me, the only thing different is I add cucumbers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Instead of using Italian dressing I used a dry Hidden Vallyey Ranch and the flavor was delish! I calculated the recipe for 8 serving to use a 1# box of small shell noodles. I omitted the tomatoes and did 2 stalks of celery, 1 cup of frozen peas, 1/4 c green onions, and 3/4 cup of shredded cheddar cheese. I am going to slice some boiled eggs to place on the top before serving for our block party tonight. I'm sure it will be a big hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This salad went from great to KILLER with the addition of the following: 2 chopped eggs, 3 green onion tops, 1 pkg frozen peas-cooked, 4 tsp dijon and 2 tsp yellow mustard. I used Paul Newmans Original Italian (the best) and mixed all the dressings together before blending with the dry ingredients. The pasta I used was Barilla Piccolini, but any light thin pasta will do great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Pretty good recipe, I doctored it up a bit by combining this recipe's ingredients with those of another tuna macaroni salad recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Honestly, I'm not sure where this recipe went wrong, but I have a hunch. It was SOOO bland! I followed this pretty close, except my pasta box was 14.5 oz instead of 12 and I chopped up only 2 stalks of celery (not a big fan)and added halved grape tomatoes when serving. I had to add a ton of salt and it just never tasted right....So disappointing because I was really excited about eating this. I think it was the mayo. I used light, but it was generic light(GV). Bad move on my part. I think if you just use light mayo-any light mayo, you are in for a disappointment. My tip? Go for a brand that you trust or the full fat :).I'm giving it 3 stars b/c I think if you do that, it has real potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This is a very good recipe. I gave it 4 stars because I made the following changes: I did not include the Italian dressing and instead used sweet relish and I also do not include the tomatoes until we're ready to eat it (or they get soggy if they sit for too long in the mixture), and I also use two cans of tuna instead of one. Add a little olive oil to the pasta after it's cooked/rinsed/drained. Keeps it moist. Very good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States