Cold Tuna Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Good, basic recipe! I like the tanginess of Italian dressing with the sweetness of the sugar. It's not overpowering like a lot of tuna-mac salads. The only change I made was adding some green & red bell pepper, chopped small (about 1/4 cup). The ratio of dressing to pasta is right on target. It's best to make ahead and let is sit overnight. The dressing gets soaked in and the flavors mix nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Yummy! Omitted the tomatoes and the sugar. Added some diced red onion as well as the celery. Really enjoyed the Italian dressing in this..actually used more than called for...."loosened" up this salad quite a bit w/o that dry soaked up mayo aspect that happens with mayo salads. Used 2 cans of solid white tuna as well. A crowd pleaser...family really enjoyed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My husband enjoyed...something different for a change and great little meal for Fridays during Lent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I've made this about 5 times, excellent recipe. Try 2 large tomatoes or 3 small, your pushing the tomatoe limit past this. I don't like celery, so I skip that and substitue shells style pasta.....btw the salad is good without Italian dressing or tuna also. The tomatoes will get mushy after a couple of days, so eat fast--get ripe cruchy tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manthatcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Good base recipe. Only need a cup of mayo. Added frozen peas (put in micro w/ a little water for a minute), added carrots, added a little onion. didn't have celery. I used 2-7oz. tuna cans and about 12 oz. of pasta- I would be okay w/ less pasta. Served with sliced avocado which really made it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Wonderful flavor, and easy to make. I skipped the celery and tomatoes, and added peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This came out really well, but I did leave off the sugar and black pepper. I hardly ever use pepper in dishes and also try to get away with as little sugar as possible. I kept tasting this as I was putting it together until I had it to my liking. Then I discovered I'd rather leave off the pepper and sugar! I have not eaten tuna since I was little and my mother used to force me to eat it. I also discovered not all prepared tuna is created equal. In order to get the one that does NOT smell like canned cat food, it has to say solid white tuna in WATER. Not oil. :-) Just in case anyone else out there is wondering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is a good tuna salad. You can add the ingredients you like and really wont change the integrity of the taste. Perfect for a hot summer day. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Very good. I used whole wheat penne. Did not have any tomatoes in the house but added a little chopped red onion and a pinch of garlic salt and Lawry seasoning salt. Will be making this all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Tasty and easy to make. I had all ingredients on hand luckily. Thanks, and I will definitely make this time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States