Cold Tuna Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This salad went from great to KILLER with the addition of the following: 2 chopped eggs, 3 green onion tops, 1 pkg frozen peas-cooked, 4 tsp dijon and 2 tsp yellow mustard. I used Paul Newmans Original Italian (the best) and mixed all the dressings together before blending with the dry ingredients. The pasta I used was Barilla Piccolini, but any light thin pasta will do great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Merola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Pretty good recipe, I doctored it up a bit by combining this recipe's ingredients with those of another tuna macaroni salad recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Honestly, I'm not sure where this recipe went wrong, but I have a hunch. It was SOOO bland! I followed this pretty close, except my pasta box was 14.5 oz instead of 12 and I chopped up only 2 stalks of celery (not a big fan)and added halved grape tomatoes when serving. I had to add a ton of salt and it just never tasted right....So disappointing because I was really excited about eating this. I think it was the mayo. I used light, but it was generic light(GV). Bad move on my part. I think if you just use light mayo-any light mayo, you are in for a disappointment. My tip? Go for a brand that you trust or the full fat :).I'm giving it 3 stars b/c I think if you do that, it has real potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This is a very good recipe. I gave it 4 stars because I made the following changes: I did not include the Italian dressing and instead used sweet relish and I also do not include the tomatoes until we're ready to eat it (or they get soggy if they sit for too long in the mixture), and I also use two cans of tuna instead of one. Add a little olive oil to the pasta after it's cooked/rinsed/drained. Keeps it moist. Very good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
My husband and I liked this receipe. Only gave it four stars because I couldn't make it as written. Didn't have mayonaise so replaced it with about 2/3 cup sour cream, upped the Italian dressing to 1/4 cup. Also added: lemon pepper, sliced black olives and some chopped red bell pepper. Great light summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Excellent salad - the whole family and our guests loved it. I cut the mayo to one cup and used pickles since I didn't have celery. I made it two days in advance, just adding the tomatoes right before serving, and it was fine. This will be our new favorite pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
this is a very good recipe, tastes great ! I used half light mayo and the other half light sour cream to save on the calories. Was very good ! Thanks a lot !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This recipe was great! I made it for a work potluck and everybody loved it. I left out the tomato because I am not a fan and added crumbled cheddar cheese but that was all that I changed. This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
good starting point. in place of table salt, i added simply organic all-seasons salt (which consists of sea salt, paprika, cane sugar, garlic, onion, celery, oregano, & tumeric), and used minced shallot for a milder flavor than white or red onion. in the past i have also used less of the all-seasons salt and added a few TBS of ranch dressing. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This is a good salad. I used the mayo made with olive oil, it tastes pretty similar to regular mayo. I had to omit the tomatoes (no raw tomato eaters here!). I added some diced cheddar for some extra flavor, and will add onion next time. The Italian dressing doesn't change the flavor that much. Good summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States