Cold Tuna Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
My mom makes a salad very similar to this. It's a great lunch on a hot summer day. I changed some things up. I used Miracle Whip rather than mayo b/c it has more zip to it. I didn't add tomatoes b/c I didn't have any, so I added some peas instead. Also added a little garlic and onion powder to taste. This needs to sit in the fridge for a couple hours to let the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Verrry good! Would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orosi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This looked so unappetizing that no one in my family even dared to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Wow this is my grangmothers recipe she passed down to me, the only thing different is I add cucumbers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Instead of using Italian dressing I used a dry Hidden Vallyey Ranch and the flavor was delish! I calculated the recipe for 8 serving to use a 1# box of small shell noodles. I omitted the tomatoes and did 2 stalks of celery, 1 cup of frozen peas, 1/4 c green onions, and 3/4 cup of shredded cheddar cheese. I am going to slice some boiled eggs to place on the top before serving for our block party tonight. I'm sure it will be a big hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This salad went from great to KILLER with the addition of the following: 2 chopped eggs, 3 green onion tops, 1 pkg frozen peas-cooked, 4 tsp dijon and 2 tsp yellow mustard. I used Paul Newmans Original Italian (the best) and mixed all the dressings together before blending with the dry ingredients. The pasta I used was Barilla Piccolini, but any light thin pasta will do great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Pretty good recipe, I doctored it up a bit by combining this recipe's ingredients with those of another tuna macaroni salad recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Honestly, I'm not sure where this recipe went wrong, but I have a hunch. It was SOOO bland! I followed this pretty close, except my pasta box was 14.5 oz instead of 12 and I chopped up only 2 stalks of celery (not a big fan)and added halved grape tomatoes when serving. I had to add a ton of salt and it just never tasted right....So disappointing because I was really excited about eating this. I think it was the mayo. I used light, but it was generic light(GV). Bad move on my part. I think if you just use light mayo-any light mayo, you are in for a disappointment. My tip? Go for a brand that you trust or the full fat :).I'm giving it 3 stars b/c I think if you do that, it has real potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This is a very good recipe. I gave it 4 stars because I made the following changes: I did not include the Italian dressing and instead used sweet relish and I also do not include the tomatoes until we're ready to eat it (or they get soggy if they sit for too long in the mixture), and I also use two cans of tuna instead of one. Add a little olive oil to the pasta after it's cooked/rinsed/drained. Keeps it moist. Very good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
My husband and I liked this receipe. Only gave it four stars because I couldn't make it as written. Didn't have mayonaise so replaced it with about 2/3 cup sour cream, upped the Italian dressing to 1/4 cup. Also added: lemon pepper, sliced black olives and some chopped red bell pepper. Great light summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States