Cold Szechuan Noodles and Shredded Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
GREAT! Very refreshing, quick and tasty. I used green tea flavoured soba noodles. I only decreased the sesame oil and increased the rice wine vinegar due to personal preference. I will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I have made this twice now, I think it is a perfect dinner dish for a really hot day. The dressing complements the earthiness of the soba noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellow_everest

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
In a word: yum! This is an excellent recipe. I love soba noodles, and here their wonderful flavor and texture is enhanced by the delicious marinade. Carrots and red bell peppers add crunch, and the green onions are the perfect finishing touch. I made a batch of this salad last Sunday and took it to school with me for lunch four days in a row, and as the week went on, the flavors melded further and became even richer and tastier. Not only is this delicious, it's quite healthy, too. An all-around winner... I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I think its SooOoO important that everyone follows the recipe. If you substitute the main ingredient in this recipe which is the SOBA noodles with reg. Spaghetti noodles, you are making a totally diff. dish. I think people should follow the recipe the 1st time around and tweak if they wish the second time around. Its not fair to the person submitting the recipe to get low ranks if you dont follow their recipe.Specially like using a completly different noodles. Soba is a gray buckwheat noodle that has a very different taste then rice noodles or reg spagehtti noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This was fabulous Juanita! Didn't have any soba noodles so I subbed with Ramen. Due to allergies, I had to omit the carrots but used matchstick size cucs instead, along with some savoy cabbage. To make it a complete meal, I surrounded the platter with thinly sliced leftover london broil and grilled chicken. I made extra sauce to marinade my chicken in and it came out wonderfully. Absolutely delicious recipe and my family thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
The soba noodles definitely make the recipe. I followed the recipe almost exactly, with a few tweakings of my own. Omitted the tamari, added in a couple tablespoons of Vietnamese fish sauce and a bag of frozen Asian vegetables -subbed for the red pepper- with some chunks of chicken - it was delicious! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
So yummy! This was a big hit with the entire family and the left overs were better than dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
This is delicious!!!! I made the sauce exactly as presented here. The only changes I made to the recipe are that I marinated some finely diced chicken in a little of the sauce and then sauted it and added to the salad and I couldn't find soba noodles so I used fresh shanghai noodles. Great flavours worth finding all the ingredients for. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYMCNAMARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Yummy! Very good recipe. I didn't have tamari sauce, so I used a dark mushroom soya sauce instead. Still turned out very well - loved the sesame seed oil! The flavours definitely taste better after sitting for a while - but I didn't bother dividing up the sauce. I just put the whole thing together at the beginning and let it sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was WAY better than expected! Important to use the soba noodles to have the proper flavor. YUM!.....update! everytime I make this I am reminded how delicious it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States