Cold Szechuan Noodles and Shredded Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I think its SooOoO important that everyone follows the recipe. If you substitute the main ingredient in this recipe which is the SOBA noodles with reg. Spaghetti noodles, you are making a totally diff. dish. I think people should follow the recipe the 1st time around and tweak if they wish the second time around. Its not fair to the person submitting the recipe to get low ranks if you dont follow their recipe.Specially like using a completly different noodles. Soba is a gray buckwheat noodle that has a very different taste then rice noodles or reg spagehtti noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
In a word: yum! This is an excellent recipe. I love soba noodles, and here their wonderful flavor and texture is enhanced by the delicious marinade. Carrots and red bell peppers add crunch, and the green onions are the perfect finishing touch. I made a batch of this salad last Sunday and took it to school with me for lunch four days in a row, and as the week went on, the flavors melded further and became even richer and tastier. Not only is this delicious, it's quite healthy, too. An all-around winner... I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I went to Trader Joe's and purchased Soba noodles and did not know what to do with them. So, I went to this web site and typed in soba noodles and this showed up. Well, I made it for my lunch the next day and really enjoyed it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
The soba noodles definitely make the recipe. I followed the recipe almost exactly, with a few tweakings of my own. Omitted the tamari, added in a couple tablespoons of Vietnamese fish sauce and a bag of frozen Asian vegetables -subbed for the red pepper- with some chunks of chicken - it was delicious! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This was fabulous Juanita! Didn't have any soba noodles so I subbed with Ramen. Due to allergies, I had to omit the carrots but used matchstick size cucs instead, along with some savoy cabbage. To make it a complete meal, I surrounded the platter with thinly sliced leftover london broil and grilled chicken. I made extra sauce to marinade my chicken in and it came out wonderfully. Absolutely delicious recipe and my family thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
This is delicious!!!! I made the sauce exactly as presented here. The only changes I made to the recipe are that I marinated some finely diced chicken in a little of the sauce and then sauted it and added to the salad and I couldn't find soba noodles so I used fresh shanghai noodles. Great flavours worth finding all the ingredients for. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYMCNAMARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Did not care for this and will probably throw most of it away. I made it for my husband and I last night, followed the recipe exactly with all of the correct ingredients. I was also looking for a tasty cold Chinese noodle salad, this wasn't it for us. Didn't care for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
This is good as it is, but the fresh carrots came out too raw. Next time I will blanch them. I didn't have red bellpepper so instead added a cucumber cut into matchstick size just before serving. Fresh cucumber seems to balance out the saltiness of soy sauce. It makes great color contrast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Not what I expected....I was looking for a really fabulous cold noodle recipe and this wasnt it...I think the potential is there but I threw a huge bowl of this out. I think it was my own fault...I used 1 lb. of extra thin rice noodles instead of the soba noodles. It was my first time making and tasting rice noodles...and I hated the taste of them. My thought is that the recipe would have been better with thin spaghetti. Noone liked it or ate it..into the trash. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
I made this for a potluck at work and they asked for it again. I prefer to use less green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States