Cold Salmon Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Lots of compliments on this spread - didn't have dried chives but it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This was an awesome spread. I had some leftover grilled salmon and was looking for a different way to use it. I did make some changes after reading the other reviews. I used fresh dill and fresh garlic chives. I also added 2 heaping Tablespoons of Sour Cream and let marinate overnight. Served it with fresh lemon wedges and toasted mini bagels and baguettes. Was a huge hit. I may add some chopped green onions next time I make this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving, and again for a party a few weeks ago. It has always dissappeared quickly! Even people who don't typically like fish end up loving this dish. I definitely recommend making this the day before; the flavors set in wonderfully overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Militant Guacamole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I found like a previous reviewer that it was a bit salty, as well as a bit thick. Salved both problems with the addition of a 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt. EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is excellent!! I used 2 - 8oz packages of cream cheese, about a 1/3 cup of sour cream and smoked salmon..about 8oz of smoked salmon.. it is wonderful.. include the dill and capers you will love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeyRobyne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This is really good. I didn't change a thing, but next time I might decrease the capers just a little bit. I know I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
A smoked salmon plate is often found on restaurant breakfast menus and is traditionally served with a bagel, cream cheese, thinly sliced tomato and onion, finely chopped hard-boiled egg and...capers, which add just a little piquant tanginess. So the addition of capers in this spread is a natural, as is the dill. However, 2 T. of dill is just way too much. I used 1 T. and it was still too artificially green and "dilly." I used fresh chives and would have preferred fresh dill too (the market didn't have any that day). All in all, the spread was good, but not great. The final word is, definitely include the capers, use fresh chives, fresh dill and a lot less of it, and this spread will be much improved, both in taste and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Pretty good recipe. I took the advice of another viewer and used fresh dill and chives. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I did not have any smoked salmon on hand so used canned salmon instead. Turned out wonderful! I loved it on Ritz crackers but I also used it in celery sticks which was fabulous! Thanks so much for a new (and well-loved already) snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I made this for a BBQ and it was a hit. The only alterations I made to the recipe was omitting the capers. I found that the saltiness of the capers and salmon can be a bit much. Otherwise, great quick and easy recipe. I'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States