Cold Oven Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I tried a more complicated recipe first and got perfect results with this one! No adjustments needed. one note, I tried using evaporated canned milk in another attempt and it was a fail. Regular milk is a must. I used whole the next time yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This is a super easy, basic popover recipe. I made it for the first time tonight as a test and they came out as described. I lrft them in for 25 minutes and pulled them out. They are not the hollow kind but rather quite full so fyi. I'm going to try and add some cheese or something next time to give them a bit of a different taste but all in all...these rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made two batches about an hour apart, so the oven didn't have time to cool completely between. The second batch puffed up much better, and I think it was because the oven was already kind of warm. The taste was great, though much better hot than once they cooled off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This did not work for me. I ended up using another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I added a dash of vanilla extract to the recipe. My Popovers REALLY popped! I turned on the oven light with 5 minutes left, and they were 5 inches out of the pan! I'm glad I peeked, because they would have burned if I left them in even another half a minute. Great with honey butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very easy, tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was the second time I've tried making popovers, and boy, was it easy! And mine turned out fine, puffy and golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uvalde, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My mom and I have tried many popover recipes, and this is a great find. I make 5 large muffin cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I used this recipe and it was perfect and easy to do. I fill mine with a cream puff type filling of vanilla pudding with whipped cream folded in, fill popovers and dust with powdered sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Oh my, this is the "lost" recipe! I have been searching for this recipe for years! Quick, simple and so delicious! Thank you so so much for my favorite popover recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Oven Scrambled Eggs

Discover the secret to making light, fluffy scrambled eggs for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States