Cold Oven Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made two batches about an hour apart, so the oven didn't have time to cool completely between. The second batch puffed up much better, and I think it was because the oven was already kind of warm. The taste was great, though much better hot than once they cooled off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This did not work for me. I ended up using another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I added a dash of vanilla extract to the recipe. My Popovers REALLY popped! I turned on the oven light with 5 minutes left, and they were 5 inches out of the pan! I'm glad I peeked, because they would have burned if I left them in even another half a minute. Great with honey butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very easy, tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was the second time I've tried making popovers, and boy, was it easy! And mine turned out fine, puffy and golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uvalde, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My mom and I have tried many popover recipes, and this is a great find. I make 5 large muffin cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I used this recipe and it was perfect and easy to do. I fill mine with a cream puff type filling of vanilla pudding with whipped cream folded in, fill popovers and dust with powdered sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Oh my, this is the "lost" recipe! I have been searching for this recipe for years! Quick, simple and so delicious! Thank you so so much for my favorite popover recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I've been making popovers for over 20 years and this is one of the best recipes. I really prefer the cold oven recipes over the other. One thing you just MUST remember about baking popovers: NEVER use the paper liners. The batter must be able to rise up the sides of the muffin cup. A paper liner hinders this. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoyo1198

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Gotta grease the paper cups if you use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Oven Scrambled Eggs

Discover the secret to making light, fluffy scrambled eggs for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States