Cold Oven Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
Two warnings, about which I should have known better anyway. One be careful not to overcook, two do not use muffin liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
These are so easy to make and so good! Perfect warm with melted butter with a main dish, or with cinnamon and sugar or honey as a dessert. Next time, I will consider adding some flavoring. Wonderful! A terrific change of pace. I don't know why more people don't try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
light and crispy, delicate and buttery, perfectly formed and deeee lish! will put in my box of tried and true!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This is the easiest popover recipe I've ever tried, and it's so good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
Wow! What a great recipe! I like these with jam as a change of pace for breakfast. I have been making the recipe as 8 larger popovers and they have come out perfectly every time. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
These were very fast and easy. We added a powdered sugar glaze to them and they tasted a lot like doughnuts. This will definitely become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Excellent!! I loved them. I baked a rib roast, so my oven was hot. Varied the recipe as follows for hot oven...450 degrees for 20 minutes...baked in cold muffin tin lightly greased with butter flavored Pam. I wouldn't heasitate to try in cold oven...perhaps for breakfast treat. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
These tasted excellent and turned out beautifully. I cut the recipe into 1/3 and it made 3 popovers which was the perfect amount for my boyfriend and I since we had lots of other food to eat with it. I debated on making yorkshire pudding or buns to have with my roast beef dinner but I opted to try these instead. What a great idea. They tasted just like yorkshire pudding but not as greasy, yet they were enough like dinner rolls that we didn't need any extra bread with our meal. I tried spreading butter on top as well as dipping in gravy and they were fabulous both ways. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I was nervous making these b/c there is a pricy restaurant we visit every blue moon that makes honey butter popovers...and its the only ones we like. I wanted to duplicate them but was worried if this recipe would be "the one." These turned out great! They were hollow, light and fluffy. I made some honey butter from this site, melted a few TBLS of it and brushed it over the hot popovers. Yeah!! I am very pleased with the result and would make these again! Be sure to grease the muffin pans well! Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
My husband liked these, I only cooked for 20 minutes, and they were very golden brown. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Oven Scrambled Eggs

Discover the secret to making light, fluffy scrambled eggs for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States