Cold Oven Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I was nervous making these b/c there is a pricy restaurant we visit every blue moon that makes honey butter popovers...and its the only ones we like. I wanted to duplicate them but was worried if this recipe would be "the one." These turned out great! They were hollow, light and fluffy. I made some honey butter from this site, melted a few TBLS of it and brushed it over the hot popovers. Yeah!! I am very pleased with the result and would make these again! Be sure to grease the muffin pans well! Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
These turn out great every time!!! My husband and I love'em!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I've struggled to make just right popovers for years. I had finally given up, until I found this recipe. Turned out beautifully! I like to make the batter in the blender, making it very easy to pour into the muffin cups (but be careful not to overmix). And it's easily scalable to 4 or 8 popovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I've been making popovers for over 20 years and this is one of the best recipes. I really prefer the cold oven recipes over the other. One thing you just MUST remember about baking popovers: NEVER use the paper liners. The batter must be able to rise up the sides of the muffin cup. A paper liner hinders this. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoyo1198

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
If you want what is essentially a pancake in a muffin cup then this recipe is for you. Otherwise, forget it. This recipe WILL NOT give you popovers. More like poopovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
You can't get any easier than this!!! What a great recipe. These popovers were nice and tall and the flavor was perfect. I did check them at 25 minutes and they were done. Thanks for the easiest popover recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
very delicious! Only thing was that they stuck to the muffin liners and they were done at 25 minutes. Made a cinnamon sugar butter spread for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma0517

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Oh my, this is the "lost" recipe! I have been searching for this recipe for years! Quick, simple and so delicious! Thank you so so much for my favorite popover recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Gotta grease the paper cups if you use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
30 minutes is way too long. My husband really liked them even though they were crunchy. I will try again and cook for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Oven Scrambled Eggs

Discover the secret to making light, fluffy scrambled eggs for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States