Cold Oven Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
These were great! I scaled the recipe down by 1/3 to make 4 popovers. There were still a lot of lumps in my batter because I was trying really hard not to overmix it, and it turned out beautifully. I knew I shouldn't open the oven before the 30 minutes was up because I didn't want them to fall, but I couldn't resist. I gave in and opened the oven to find beautifully golden brown popovers 7 minutes early. Two of them were hollow and puffed up beautifull while the other two were lopsided and still had a bready bottom. I filled the two hollow ones with a small scoop of ice cream (it fit perfectly!) and put them into the freezer for dessert. The other two, less pretty ones, were eaten right away. I may try to add a little sugar to the batter next time - just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I made these for breakfast and could not get over the 5-minute prep time. Wow! I think I cooked them a little too long - they stuck in the pan and I had to sacrifice the bottom. My boyfriend didn't like them, but he ate them plain. I had them with raspberry preserves, and popped leftovers in the oven for breakfast the following day. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This is a fabulous recipe! I used the hot oven version someone posted earlier ( and thank you, by the way ) So I lightly sprayed my muffin pan with Pam and chilled it, poured in the batter and baked in a preheated 450 degree oven for 20 minutes. Perfect ! Tall and crispy and gorgeous...very impressive. Oh, I also cut the salt back to 1/4 tsp. Enjoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Hmmm...they looked beautiful, rose well, and tasted good, but...The flattened almost immediately unlike another popover recipe I have. And, the outer crust wasn't very crisp as I like. Got a limp, soft consistency right away. No, this isn't the popover recipe I'll be keeping. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
Yummy! Definitely make some Cinnamon Honey Butter to go along with these... I wish I could give more than 5 stars. :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
My 12 yr. old son loves to make these...so easy and almost foolproof! We did have a small "deflation" disaster once, he opened the oven to check on them about halfway thru baking, and they sunk. Still tasted great though! We make them Italian-style, with garlic, basil and black pepper in the batter, and a sprinkle of grated cheese after baking. Molto bene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAMAINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wilton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
These were excellent! I used Pam to coat my muffin tins. I made 8 out of this recipe. I can think of so many ways to use this recipe. I served them lastnight with butter to go with vegetarian chili. Yum! My husband said it tasted somewhat like yorkshire pudding. So easy and delicous! Only 20 minutes though in convection oven. I may even lower the temp next time to 400 - 425. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
I would say to add only 1/4 teaspoon salt!! Otherwise this recipe works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Delicious! Followed the recipe to a t and it turned out great!! Even my picky 3yo ate two!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Oven Scrambled Eggs

Discover the secret to making light, fluffy scrambled eggs for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States