Cold Oven Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Put muffin pan in freezer while making cold batter. Then put in cold oven and bake at 450 for 27 min. Don't peek. I not longer have "pop-unders" but get great pop-overs every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Can't go wrong. Super easy, delicious and totally customizable. I like them with plain butter and lots of it, and a hot cup of tea on a Sunday morning. After reading another reviewe about honey butter...I'm gonna have to try that tomorrow! Sounds fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzzball420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Center, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Easy to make, but I found that the thirty minute cooking time was too long. I greased my muffin pan as recommended, but the popovers came out too brown and were very difficult to remove. They were hollow on the inside, but over-cooked and a bit hard. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wilmette, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
These tasted great! I threw in a little garlic butter just to give it some umph. Very basic/plain as is. I noticed all of the recipes are, so I don't count off for that. I think I would just prefer them to puff up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I do not know if I didnt make these correctly, but the batter was extremely thin with large lumps and the popovers came out tasting like baked eggs. Sorry - but I was not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Really tall and puffy, easy, mine were done after 25 minutes! Try them they are very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I didn't follow the original poster's recipe exactly, but even so I'd recommend not using paper liners (they stuck to the popovers like glue). I added a pinch of sugar and they came out very nice (at least the tops did - LOL).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
They hardly rose at all, and I followed the directions precisely. They had no hollow middle; it was just a big, somewhat fluffy, tasteless muffin (with a crispy outside). :( Guess I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
These deflated within minutes of being taken out of the oven! and they practically shrunk to half their size after deflating.. resulting in very small popovers. I'd say, don't hesitate to fill the popover molds completely full. Can anyone help with that? Should I add baking powder to this recipe? Plus, I added 1/2 tsp sugar for 3 popovers. Insides were like a solidified cooked custard; which was nice, but still seemed a bit bland so I'll try with 1 tsp of sugar next time. Definitely need to add some more to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States