Cold Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I like to make 3 Bean Salad often in the Summer, picnic, months. I made this salad one day when I didn't have the wax beans and kidney beans. It really is very simple. While very tasty I think I still like the 3 bean look of the salad being more complex and fancy. Anyway, instead of using Italian dressing, which is fine in a pinch I'm sure,it's a little too tangy and I like it a little sweeter. I used a 3 bean dressing, 3/4 cup white sugar 2/3 cup distilled white vinegar 1/3 cup vegetable oil 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper 1/2 teaspoon celery seed Still very easy and fast. Of course, better affter a long marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I used this for a camping meal for 100 people. Drain the canned beans really well, I put the cans of beans open end down in the sink while slicing the onions. We also let it marinate overnight, sweet... too easy. Thanks Dale for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I must admit, I was totally skeptical of such a simple recipe that didn't seem to make any sense. I made it for our recent office St Pat's party and it was a hit! This is a great summer salad that is light and refreshing. I only used around 10oz of dressing though and my beans were swimming! Great recipe. Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Rinse cans of green beans, always. It really makes a better difference in the taste! Takes the can taste out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
So simple, quick and GOOD!! My oh-so-picky boyfriend had 3 helpings! I did only use half a bottle of dressing, it seemed like plenty. Will definitely make again and again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
You'll like it even better if you add: - 1 tablespoon of sugar to the Italian dressing, and - 1 can of sliced water chestnuts. The additions turn it into a 5-star recipe, in my opinion. I also make it with a can each of green and wax beans for a little more interest. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
It was a bit hit at the family reunion. I used a can of regular green bean and a can of wax beans for a bit more color. I also substituted Newman's Own Low Fat Sesame Ginger Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrington, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was a big success. It tasted fantastic and was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDI149

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
I LOVE this salad. I even make this just to take for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Easy to throw together very quickly, that is for sure. Hubby prefers a mix of different beans instead of all green beans. I do agree with another reviewer, rinse the canned beans before adding to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States