Cold Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Did not like this recipe. Family wouldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
You'll like it even better if you add: - 1 tablespoon of sugar to the Italian dressing, and - 1 can of sliced water chestnuts. The additions turn it into a 5-star recipe, in my opinion. I also make it with a can each of green and wax beans for a little more interest. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was very good and everyone really liked it. Although, I did NOT use canned green beans. To make it more healthy I used frozen beans and steamed them in a small amount of water, then placed them in a serving bowl and added the rest. I also make my own Italian salad dressing: 1/2 c. olive oil, 1/4 cup balsamic/apple vinegar mixed; then I add to taste garlic powder, salt, pepper, oregano, and basil. I took this to a friend's house for lunch and everyone (even my children) commented on how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maribor, Štajerska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
You have to like canned green beans to like this recipe. The texture was unappealing--I guess I thought the dressing would perk it up/disguise it. But I was wrong. NO ONE at my gathering liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Rinse cans of green beans, always. It really makes a better difference in the taste! Takes the can taste out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years...try adding halved cherry or grape tomatoes and serve with hard crust Italian bread. Better made the day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was alright. My daughter loved it. I let it marinade for 5 hours, and it tasted rather bland to me. I used Kraft Zesty Italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this for Christmas dinner, and it was good, but not the best vegetable side dish ever. 1 bottle of dressing is WAY too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
It was a bit hit at the family reunion. I used a can of regular green bean and a can of wax beans for a bit more color. I also substituted Newman's Own Low Fat Sesame Ginger Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrington, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
One of those recipes that I really wanted to like more. I love 3-bean salad - but with only green beans it didn't make it for me. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States