Cold-Busting Ginger Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This recipe rocks! I've had the flu for a few days now and made this recipe earlier today. It is so good, and the ginger is great for the tummy problems. I doubled the recipe and made it with a whole chicken instead of breasts, I think it gives much better flavor to the broth. Besides that, I only added more celery because I love it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Absolutely loved this soup! I added shredded cabbage, thighs instead of breasts and four kaffir lime leaves. If I had cold symptoms, they're gone now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Absolutly love this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Awesome, Awesome, Awesome – only thing I changed was no kohlrabi and chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shannon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This was a great tasting soup, especially when one has a cold. Every time one of my kids has a cold, I make chicken soup. Saw this one while browsing today and thought it would be a perfect cold-buster. Not only did both of my kids (sick) love it and eat multiple helpings, my husband and I (healthy) thought it was awesome too. I did scale back the ginger and garlic by not adding it at the end because I figured my daughter wouldn't appreciate it - she did say it was a little ginger strong - but I thought a bit more would have been a perfect finish. One thing I changed was I used 2/3 chicken "Better than Bullion" and 1/3 beef "Better than Bullion" because it was what I had on hand. Still was quite tasty and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
As far as chicken soup goes, this is one of the best I've ever tasted. Normally I feel like chicken soup is either much too bland and watery, or way too salty. This one isn't salty at all but instead has a nice, fairly powerful ginger and rosemary flavor. The recipe as written makes a huge batch of soup. My husband and I each had a bowl for dinner, my baby had a baby-sized bowl, I froze half of the remaining batch in ice cube trays to serve my son for lunch in the future, and there is still plenty for at least a day or two of lunches for me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
The wine, lemon, and probably the ginger too, is just too overpowering. I couldn't taste anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolshmarol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This soup is awesome! My entire family loved it! I made only a few changes: did not use kohlrabi as my grocer did not carry it, used Demerara sugar in place of white sugar, and I substituted Chicken Broth for the bouillon and water. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
A rare, beautiful, perfect-as-is recipe. I use raw honey in place of sugar and greatly increase the amount of ginger and garlic added at the end, but those are personal preferences, not necessities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Truly phenomenal tasting soup. I use chicken thighs and strain the whole thing after the chicken is done, before adding in the final vegetables. Perfection! The best medicine you'll ever taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States