Cold Asparagus with Curry Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Perfect dip! A local irish pub serves a curry dip with their fries and I was craving it. THIS was exactly what I was looking for. It's great with veggies, and french fries, and tonight I am going to use it with fried zucchini. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I decided to try this dish because both my girlfriend and I love asparagus and curry. I ended up very disappointed with the final product. The asparagus ended up being delicious, but the curry dipping sauce wasn't what I had in mind. The spiced in the dip tasted good, and for a while we thought the dip was ok, but then the realization that we were eating spiced mayonnaise and sour cream set in. I don't think this dish is horrible and I believe many could enjoy it, but it’s not for everybody. I'd recommend avoiding it if you are not a huge fan of mayonnaise. For those who do like mayonnaise based dips, I’d recommend adding some garlic, lemon juice, and cayenne pepper to spice things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Wow! How can something that tastes so great be so easy?!! This tastes just like the dip that Melting Pot Restaurant uses. It's great on steamed or grilled veggies and even chunks of grilled meat. For the most healthy, I steam the veggie and use light mayo and light sour cream--still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Serves as a good base - but I added a lot of other spices to make it taste better. Granted the curry powder I used wasn't the best or fresh so that might have something to do with it. I added fresh pressed garlic, paprika, salt and pepper. I also might use yogurt instead of mayo, but keep the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
The 5 starts are for the curry dip-it was delicious. I too added honey and salt & pepper with a tich of cayenne. I made crab cakes and served this dip and it went beautifully well together. Also good on the asparagus. Anything left I smeared onto sandwiches for lunch the next day. So, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I thought this recipe was pretty good. After a while I was more into the asparagus. After the asparagus was gone, left with allot of dip, I roasted some yellow squash and then added some honey to the dip. The honey brought a whole other layer to the classic curry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was soooo easy and very delicious. Different, too. I served with the balnched asparagus, and added red and green pepper strips, and cherry tomatoes to the platter for a Christmasssy feel. Well done, touche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very Good. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Hall Lynam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very good, though I reversed the ratio of mayo to sour cream b/c I'm not a big fan of mayo. I also used Light mayo to reduce unnecessary fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I haven't made this with asparagus, but I really like this curry dip. So simple, and yet very nice with veggies (especially cauliflower!) or even chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States