Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I loved the "clean" taste of this chowder with no meat base. I did make a few changes because it was almost too thick to eat as directed by the original recipe. I used 1.5 cups Half and Half, and 1 cup milk to soften the leeks, then add to the base; and I added 2 tsp salt, a few grinds of pepper, and a lot (1/4 tsp?) of freshly ground nutmeg. Also I hand-chopped everything rather than use a processor or blender so that the vegetable pieces would be big enough to add tactile interest and a variety of colors. Incidentally, after the cabbage was cooked it was a breeze to chop! All together the dish took about 40 minutes to prepare, and serves 6 - 8. It was wonderful immediately, but fantastic the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Okay, so I changed this recipe quite a bit... but oh my GOSH was it good! I didn't have mace or leeks... and wasn't about to run to the store. So I used potatoes, sauerkraut (1 can), green onions (1 bunch, chopped), butter (3/4 cup) and cream (about 3/4 cup). (I never use cream, but I had it from something else, and didn't want it to go bad...) I made this for a combination St. Patrick's Day/Birthday dinner for my mother, with BBQ pork ribs and corn casserole. It was absolutely fabulous, definitely 5 stars! I love the extra flavor that the sauerkraut provided, my whole family loved it too - even my 19 month old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Summer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This is the most delicious mashed potato ever! Goodbye Cowboy mashed potatoes...hello Colcannon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Oh my! Made this for a large easter party and everyone raved about it. A little time consuming but more then well worth it! My tip: season the water the well that you boil your leeks and potatoes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This was absolutely fantastic - I've made it 3 times now and everyone loves it. Thanks for this:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlow, County Carlow, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Absolutely love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Excellent Colcannon recipe! The best I have found. Highly reccommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I used salt pork to simmer the cabbage, and fried up some bacon, may not be the healthiest...but TOTAL comfort food!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaDigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Wonderful alternative to plain mash potatoes! The cabbage and leeks added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
A nice alternative to saurkraut or fried potatoes with corned beef or open-faced roast beef sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States