Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I loved the "clean" taste of this chowder with no meat base. I did make a few changes because it was almost too thick to eat as directed by the original recipe. I used 1.5 cups Half and Half, and 1 cup milk to soften the leeks, then add to the base; and I added 2 tsp salt, a few grinds of pepper, and a lot (1/4 tsp?) of freshly ground nutmeg. Also I hand-chopped everything rather than use a processor or blender so that the vegetable pieces would be big enough to add tactile interest and a variety of colors. Incidentally, after the cabbage was cooked it was a breeze to chop! All together the dish took about 40 minutes to prepare, and serves 6 - 8. It was wonderful immediately, but fantastic the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Excellent Colcannon recipe! The best I have found. Highly reccommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
A nice alternative to saurkraut or fried potatoes with corned beef or open-faced roast beef sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Oh my! Made this for a large easter party and everyone raved about it. A little time consuming but more then well worth it! My tip: season the water the well that you boil your leeks and potatoes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I used salt pork to simmer the cabbage, and fried up some bacon, may not be the healthiest...but TOTAL comfort food!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaDigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Wonderful alternative to plain mash potatoes! The cabbage and leeks added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Okay, so I changed this recipe quite a bit... but oh my GOSH was it good! I didn't have mace or leeks... and wasn't about to run to the store. So I used potatoes, sauerkraut (1 can), green onions (1 bunch, chopped), butter (3/4 cup) and cream (about 3/4 cup). (I never use cream, but I had it from something else, and didn't want it to go bad...) I made this for a combination St. Patrick's Day/Birthday dinner for my mother, with BBQ pork ribs and corn casserole. It was absolutely fabulous, definitely 5 stars! I love the extra flavor that the sauerkraut provided, my whole family loved it too - even my 19 month old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Summer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This is the most delicious mashed potato ever! Goodbye Cowboy mashed potatoes...hello Colcannon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This was absolutely fantastic - I've made it 3 times now and everyone loves it. Thanks for this:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlow, County Carlow, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Absolutely love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States