Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Excellent recipe. I added a bit more of the leeks and cooked the cabbage much longer, but it was deliciousl. A wonderful alternative for potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I was a bit scared of this, because although I had heard it was great and was very curious, it just seemed odd. Slimey cabbage mucking up mashed potatoes? However, I had nothing to fear, it was delicious. I used red cabbage as I had it on hand, and wow! The colors were crazy the night I made it, leftover seemed to intensify! (I'll try and post a photo.) Anyway, it's a flexible recipe, and I'm sure I'll be using it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
you know i looked at the other recipes for this and yours looks the best the other ones i saw looked like mush and not pretty. that looks awesome! im making it very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by layla13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This was really good! I plan on making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Brown
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very tasty recipe! And easy. I used green onions instead of leeks because I already had them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Delicious...I looked at several recipes and decided this looked best for what I had on hand. I had less potatoes than called for and also added a bit of nutmeg but boy was this great! I also didn't have the onion so used some chopped green onion toward the end of the cooking. My first time to try colcannon...and...definitely going to be making this again. Thank you for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonny Buckley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Very good--Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Delicious combination. I made a couple of changes- used 1/2 cup of light sour cream instead of butter, and skipped the mace. However, I boiled the potatoes in the water that my corned beef was in, so they were flavored with all of those spices. The leeks REALLY made the flavor here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I stumbled upon this recipe by accident and was shocked cause this has been a family recipe that's been passed down through generations, had no idea anyone else did it! Love this! If you don't like cabbage, don't worry... nobody in my family does but me, and people go back for three and four servings of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Because of dairy allergies I substitute chicken broth for the milk and butter. Still just as good. I usually leave out the leeks too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States