Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I really liked this. I love having the substance of mashed potatoes w/ the health of the greens. Obvious, not a health food but feels a little better than a big pile of potatoes and butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Loved this. Made just as is. Served with black eyed peas for New Year's and Irish soda bread. We loved the addition of the leeks. This was the first time my Irish hubby has had the dish and he's hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Just okay. Like others I substituted nutmeg for mace but I didn't care for the flavor. Next time I'll either buy some mace or just skip over that ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Tasty! I substituted 1/2 tsp nutmeg for the mace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
As suggested by others, I used Nutmeg instead of the mace and Kale instead of cabbage. Trust me.... the end result was exactly as I remember my now departed grandmother's colcannon. Our relatives from Mitchelstown,County Cork, Ireland would be proud of such a faithful rendition of an Irish classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Excellent recipe. I added a bit more of the leeks and cooked the cabbage much longer, but it was deliciousl. A wonderful alternative for potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I was a bit scared of this, because although I had heard it was great and was very curious, it just seemed odd. Slimey cabbage mucking up mashed potatoes? However, I had nothing to fear, it was delicious. I used red cabbage as I had it on hand, and wow! The colors were crazy the night I made it, leftover seemed to intensify! (I'll try and post a photo.) Anyway, it's a flexible recipe, and I'm sure I'll be using it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
you know i looked at the other recipes for this and yours looks the best the other ones i saw looked like mush and not pretty. that looks awesome! im making it very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by layla13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This was really good! I plan on making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jitterbuug
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very tasty recipe! And easy. I used green onions instead of leeks because I already had them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States