Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Used more than a pound of russets; closer to 2, probably. Outstanding. Even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This recipe is really flexible about ingredients, and when I whipped mine up in the food processor, it was a perfect velvety fluff. Divine! Still, this is not meant to be a main dish, and I could see a fantastic mushroom gravy to spruce it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Added this dish to my St. Patrick's Day dinner. Loved by family and guests. As suggested by someone else, I fried cabbage in bacon grease and garnished with bacon bits. Also boiled potatoes and Leeks in milk. Gave a much richer flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I'm not sure if leeks are a different size in Ireland, but I picked two of the smallest they had at our grocery store and there was still about twice as much as should ever be in the recipe. Unless the Irish have a much stronger desire to taste onion than we do. Anyhow, aside from the almost overwhelmingly strong onion flavor from the leeks, it was quite tasty. We added some bacon and cheddar, of which I think the bacon really made it taste a lot better. And of course, cheese is always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made this last year for St. Patricks Day for my non-Irish husband...he loved them! It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blencoe, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was alright. I would have actually given it three stars except it was my error that took it down a notch. I found it to be a little too liquidy for my tastes but that will be easily fixed on the next round by not adding all of the milk or addining more potatoes. The flavor was fine but even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Excellent. Definitely need to try it with kale next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Beautiful color. I think I will try more potatoes & fewer leeks next round. The only flavor that was coming through was onion. I dumped in sour cream afterwards to smoothe out the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I really liked this. I love having the substance of mashed potatoes w/ the health of the greens. Obvious, not a health food but feels a little better than a big pile of potatoes and butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States