Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I loved this! I didn't follow the measurements exactly, I just simmered some cabbage and leeks in milk and seasonings and then later when I made the mashed potatoes I took the greens out of the fridge and mixed them in. So good! A huge hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I am Irish by marriage and I made this for my husband instead of plain boiled potatoes and cabbage to go with our corned beef. In a word, AWESOME!! I too sauteed my veggies and steamed my potatoes and everyone in the family loved it. This may not end up being just at St. Patrick's day special in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I messed with the recipe a tiny bit. First, I used the leftovers of mashed potatoes I had made to cover a shepherd's pie, so there was some Irish cheddar mixed in. Second, I used my beloved stick (immersion) blender to smooth the cabbage mix, but left chunks to keep a good texture. Third, i thought it was a little bland (maybe I should have used kale instead of cabbage?), so I added more mace, a little bit of granulated onion, and a bit of celery salt. Leaving it to wait overnight made it even better, lovely blend of flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was pretty good. Made with cabbage and served with sausage. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I love colcannon, so when I received leeks and cabbage in my CSA box I thought I'd give it a try. I thought this recipe needed a little something to get my husband to eat it, so I also added cooked bacon. I substituted mace with nutmeg. It tasted great and I froze it in two portions for a freezer-meal side. Reheated great in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Superb recipe! We doubled it to ensure leftovers. This was mouthwatering. Great with corned beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
very good. make sure to chop cabbage into fairly small pieces, mine turned out a little too chunky, but it tasted fabulous, was something different, and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lhanders

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enoch, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I've never had Colcannon before so I have no idea what this was supposed to taste like. Also, I think I used too much milk. I cut up 2 leeks, and simmered them in the milk but I didn't add the entirety of the leeks to the mashed potatoes b/c I think it would have been overwhelming. The milk had plenty of leek flavor to it. I will definitely try Colcannon again (to eat, not make), but it was a bit too much work for mashed potatoes that tasted kinda 'meh'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Delicious! Served it as the vessel for Lamb stew and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Made this for St. Patrick's day. So good. I'm a McNamara, so I was really happy to find an authentic Irish recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States