Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Just Fantastic! I used Leeks and Cabbage and skipped the mace....I didn't miss it! It was an upgraded mashed potatoes. I didn't know that was possible, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Queen23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was very good. We increased the portions and did about 2 lbs. cabbage to 5lbs. potatoes. Blended them until smooth & creamy, & topped them with crumbled bacon bits. I'm not a huge cabbage fan, but this was a great way to have it. Served it with cherry smoked bangers (Bratwursts), shepherd's pie, and corned beef. It fills you up fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAILINDAWG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
very tasty. I needed a little salt in mine but it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I just finished cooking this and the taste is fine but it is quite runny. I went with the exact messurements and weight but it seems to be too much milk. Next time I'll add 1-2 more potatoes or less milk. Other then that it very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Even my skeptics today (St. Patty's Day 2012) were impressed and went back for heap tons of seconds. Good thing I made an extreme amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I loved this! I didn't follow the measurements exactly, I just simmered some cabbage and leeks in milk and seasonings and then later when I made the mashed potatoes I took the greens out of the fridge and mixed them in. So good! A huge hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I am Irish by marriage and I made this for my husband instead of plain boiled potatoes and cabbage to go with our corned beef. In a word, AWESOME!! I too sauteed my veggies and steamed my potatoes and everyone in the family loved it. This may not end up being just at St. Patrick's day special in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I messed with the recipe a tiny bit. First, I used the leftovers of mashed potatoes I had made to cover a shepherd's pie, so there was some Irish cheddar mixed in. Second, I used my beloved stick (immersion) blender to smooth the cabbage mix, but left chunks to keep a good texture. Third, i thought it was a little bland (maybe I should have used kale instead of cabbage?), so I added more mace, a little bit of granulated onion, and a bit of celery salt. Leaving it to wait overnight made it even better, lovely blend of flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was pretty good. Made with cabbage and served with sausage. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I love colcannon, so when I received leeks and cabbage in my CSA box I thought I'd give it a try. I thought this recipe needed a little something to get my husband to eat it, so I also added cooked bacon. I substituted mace with nutmeg. It tasted great and I froze it in two portions for a freezer-meal side. Reheated great in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States