Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Fantastic! Can't wait to make this in the fall with fresh from the garden produce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used about 2.5 lbs potatoes and only 1 leek which was more than enough. I also added 4 or 5 strips of crisply fried and crumbled bacon. Served with corned beef for St. Patty's day. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was a great recipe--the leeks taste great in it! I didn't use all of the green parts of the leeks because I was making this late at night for a potluck the next day and I didn't want to wait for the thick parts of the leeks to soften enough to be edible. I just added some extra cabbage instead and it was delicious! I'd recommend using big cracked pepper to season this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
good way to hide veggies in your mashed potatoes i guess... but otherwise tastes like mashed potatoes with a lot more work. i didn't hvae leeks so used three big green onions. sauteed in butter and garlic before mixing in. used salad savoy because that's what i had. nice color and will eat, but... not sure what this adds?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Just Fantastic! I used Leeks and Cabbage and skipped the mace....I didn't miss it! It was an upgraded mashed potatoes. I didn't know that was possible, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Queen23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was very good. We increased the portions and did about 2 lbs. cabbage to 5lbs. potatoes. Blended them until smooth & creamy, & topped them with crumbled bacon bits. I'm not a huge cabbage fan, but this was a great way to have it. Served it with cherry smoked bangers (Bratwursts), shepherd's pie, and corned beef. It fills you up fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAILINDAWG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
very tasty. I needed a little salt in mine but it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynBW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I just finished cooking this and the taste is fine but it is quite runny. I went with the exact messurements and weight but it seems to be too much milk. Next time I'll add 1-2 more potatoes or less milk. Other then that it very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Even my skeptics today (St. Patty's Day 2012) were impressed and went back for heap tons of seconds. Good thing I made an extreme amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I loved this! I didn't follow the measurements exactly, I just simmered some cabbage and leeks in milk and seasonings and then later when I made the mashed potatoes I took the greens out of the fridge and mixed them in. So good! A huge hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States