Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I have to admit that I didn't follow the recipe exactly (didn't bother much with the right quantities as usual). I wanted something more Irish than regular mashed potatoes to go with the Irish Stout Stew that I made for St. Patty's Day. This is quite possibly the most delicious version of mashed potatoes that I have ever had. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Cowling Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oregon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Made this for St. Patty's day gathering for the first time. Actually the first time I ever heard of colcannon. Delicious and pretty. I used half cabbage and half kale. First time I ever used kale too. Thanks fr a great recipe. Got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Outstanding recipe. I added a half cup of Irish cheese and holy cow! This is currently being served at St. Patrick's Day dinner tonight. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunchwacky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I really enjoyed this however wish I would have added more cabbage then potato. I also used green onion and cooked my cabbage and in butter first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Delicious! Made this as a side dish with a raosted turkey and it was a big hit! Even my 9 year old who never eats colcannon, ate every bit of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Loved this! I had never even heard of Colcannon before and was just randomly searching AR for some cabbage recipes. I just eyeballed the amount of potatoes and cabbage, and think I need more cabbage next time. Following a few others' suggestions, I did add approximately 1 teas. garlic powder (will use fresh, roasted garlic next time) and was generous with the salt and pepper. I didn't have enough milk on hand but had some sour cream leftover, so I did 1/2 c milk and 1/2 sour cream (I've always loved sour cream on baked potatoes). Worked just fine and gave it a nice richness! Definitely making this again soon - Thanks for opening my eyes, Marc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Yum! I made this for a potluck dinner party at my boss's house. It was a huge success. I used Yukon gold potatoes, which I cut in chunks, boiled and then cooled and peeled. The skins came right off with my fingers - much easier than peeling the raw potato. I think Yukons are best for mashed potatoes - not too waxy and not too dry. I sliced the cabbage and leeks into roughly 1/2 by 1 inch pieces, separating the layers as I put them in a dutch oven. Some people suggested sauteing the cabbage and leeks in butter, but I think that would have made the dish to greasy. Instead, I cooked the cabbage and the leeks together with enough Half & Half to cover over very, very low heat, so it wouldn't scorch and ruin the whole thing. This probably took an hour, stirring about every 10 min. I set the timer on the stove, and it just about coordinates with the frequency of commercials on TV! When they were tender, I poured off the H&H to use later and thoroughly drained the cabbage and leeks in a colander. Then I rough mashed everything together with a hand masher, adding the leftover H&H as needed. In this dish, I like the potatoes to be a little chunky, so they stand up to the cabbage and leeks. As the finishing touch, I sprang for Irish butter (Kerrygold)- much creamier and authentic. I made this the night before and then warmed it up for a couple of hours and served from my crock pot. Finally, I am going to blend the left overs with some of the left over H&H to make a potato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
really loved this one! Creamy, flavorful. My nanny kids who are picky veggie eaters liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Love this recipe! I never would have thought of putting these ingredients together, but it is now my favorite! My kids don't "Love" it, but they tolerate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILLERSQUARED

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Good enough for this irishman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States