Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Loved this! I had never even heard of Colcannon before and was just randomly searching AR for some cabbage recipes. I just eyeballed the amount of potatoes and cabbage, and think I need more cabbage next time. Following a few others' suggestions, I did add approximately 1 teas. garlic powder (will use fresh, roasted garlic next time) and was generous with the salt and pepper. I didn't have enough milk on hand but had some sour cream leftover, so I did 1/2 c milk and 1/2 sour cream (I've always loved sour cream on baked potatoes). Worked just fine and gave it a nice richness! Definitely making this again soon - Thanks for opening my eyes, Marc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Yum! I made this for a potluck dinner party at my boss's house. It was a huge success. I used Yukon gold potatoes, which I cut in chunks, boiled and then cooled and peeled. The skins came right off with my fingers - much easier than peeling the raw potato. I think Yukons are best for mashed potatoes - not too waxy and not too dry. I sliced the cabbage and leeks into roughly 1/2 by 1 inch pieces, separating the layers as I put them in a dutch oven. Some people suggested sauteing the cabbage and leeks in butter, but I think that would have made the dish to greasy. Instead, I cooked the cabbage and the leeks together with enough Half & Half to cover over very, very low heat, so it wouldn't scorch and ruin the whole thing. This probably took an hour, stirring about every 10 min. I set the timer on the stove, and it just about coordinates with the frequency of commercials on TV! When they were tender, I poured off the H&H to use later and thoroughly drained the cabbage and leeks in a colander. Then I rough mashed everything together with a hand masher, adding the leftover H&H as needed. In this dish, I like the potatoes to be a little chunky, so they stand up to the cabbage and leeks. As the finishing touch, I sprang for Irish butter (Kerrygold)- much creamier and authentic. I made this the night before and then warmed it up for a couple of hours and served from my crock pot. Finally, I am going to blend the left overs with some of the left over H&H to make a potato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
really loved this one! Creamy, flavorful. My nanny kids who are picky veggie eaters liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Love this recipe! I never would have thought of putting these ingredients together, but it is now my favorite! My kids don't "Love" it, but they tolerate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILLERSQUARED

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Good enough for this irishman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Love this stuff! I make it every St. P Day and my husband wishes I would make it more often. The first time I used green onions instead of leeks; the second time following the recipe. We preferred the green onions for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Delightfully simple and tasty -- I used kale instead of cabbage for more flavor. Took this to a work luncheon for St. Patrick's Day and it was a hit! I'll definitely be making it again with extra kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Tasted wonderful!! Also an easy way to get picky eaters to eat cabbage. My 12 year old loves mashed potatoes, so this was a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is literally a magical recipe!!! Truly heaven!!! I know the mix of ingredients sound different but believe me, it is out of this world to be certain!!! I have friends who tell me they dream about eating this dish at night and crave it all the time. Its so unusual, so versatile, so satisfying!! I served Irish Stout beef stew with this but you could serve roast chicken, pork tenderloin, I've even served chili with this!!! The possibilities are endless and oh so delicious so definitely give this one a try, and be sure to keep a few copies handy if you serve it to friends bc they ARE going to beg you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was a HIT! I made it for St. Paddy's Day. I mage it green with food coloring. I will make it every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaPizza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trabuco Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States