Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe was VERY bland on it's own. Also, the proportions of milk are wrong. I used 1 c as directed in the recipe and my dish was almost soup. I have to added some cooked oatmeal to firm it up some. Also, I REALLY had to doctor it up to make it good. I added a pouch of white gravy mix, lots of nutmeg (in place of mace), and Bragg's Liquid Aminos (which is a flavoring for many things). It tasted decent after doctoring it up but it was a bit unsightly as a mashed mess. It wasn't worth the large number of dishes it required to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made this exactly as described, with a touch more potatoes, and it is delicious! Looking forward to sharing with friends tonight. I processed the leeks/milk and cabbage, so we have what looks like green mashed potatoes but tastes so much better. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Unbelievably good! I made it as written and it was perfect. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This was very good...... used half and half instead of milk. Don't forget the salt:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Great recipe! Colcannon is also a traditional Halloween dish and I served with smoked sausages, fried apples and barm brack bread. (also from this site)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Wonderful! My family and I enjoyed it. I followed others' advice to saute the cabbage and the leeks--and I cooked the potatoes in the microwave--all still turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Ogden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I love colcannon any recipe I try is always good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy McKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This was sooooooooo wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No changes, and devoured by all! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Stitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Tried this recipe tonight and it was lovely. Never been able to get the family to eat more than a mouthful of savoy cabbage before but this time it all got eaten! I didn't add all the milk into the mashed potatoes only as much as was needed. Really enjoyed it and will use it again. Thanks for sharing it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Not bad,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States