Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I have to admit I was afraid to add the mace after smelling it but the recipe turned out great without it. We love these potatoes and eat them all the time now. Thanks for the great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Velgos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Really good! Hubby and I both loved it! Even our son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetiesmj
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I saw this recipe featured on St. Patty's Day and saved it. I just now made it and am sorry that I didn't make it earlier. I used kale instead of broccoli only because I had kale in the fridge and also wanted the dish to turn out greener in color. Yum! The flavors of the leeks, potatoes and kale together along with the little bit of ground mace was delicious. Just be careful on how much mace you put into this dish because it can overwhelm the other flavors. The recipe says a pinch and it means a pinch. I always tend to go heavier on herbs and spices, but not on mace because it's strong. The overall appearance is exactly as photographed and is a crowd pleaser. I really enjoyed Colcannon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I make this as a main dish for dinner all the time and my kids love it! I like to fry some bacon on the side (extra crispy) and crumble it over each serving. Too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Came out a little wetter than I liked. I'll use half a cup of milk to cook the leeks (or onions) next time, and add more milk only if the mixture needs it. With all of the milk, this would be an excellent base for a cassarole with sausages on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I made this for our St.Patricks day dinner. My son, who hates cabbage, loved this dish. I really thought the flavors blended so well together. I have been interested in trying something using Leeks. I was very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A-NET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
So, we didn't use real potatoes because I had some poor planning. We used potato pearls. Still, it wasn't bad. WE liked it quite a bit actually. I would add more cabbage and leeks next time because I didn't put in quite as much as the recipe called for. It was a hit for St. Patty's Day and we had fun with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I used the leeks, about four golden potatoes (which is maybe more than a pound) and substituted 1/2 & 1/2 for the milk. This recipe was PERFECT! My family absolutely loved it and I will definitely make it again. We do have a few leftovers from St. Patrick's Day but I'm going to use them to make a kind of boxty. Yum! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
It's a nice twist to regular plain mashed potatoes! We enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
My hubby loved this, me -- not so much. Two leeks were too much; the amount of milk to cover them was enormous and if I'd put all that in the potatoes they would have been soupy. I only put in a small part and they were still wayyyyy too runny for me. I did like the cabbage and leek combo, but I ended up adding some sour cream and garlic powder to help the flavor. I may tweak this recipe a little and try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States