Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Came out a little wetter than I liked. I'll use half a cup of milk to cook the leeks (or onions) next time, and add more milk only if the mixture needs it. With all of the milk, this would be an excellent base for a cassarole with sausages on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I made this for our St.Patricks day dinner. My son, who hates cabbage, loved this dish. I really thought the flavors blended so well together. I have been interested in trying something using Leeks. I was very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A-NET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
So, we didn't use real potatoes because I had some poor planning. We used potato pearls. Still, it wasn't bad. WE liked it quite a bit actually. I would add more cabbage and leeks next time because I didn't put in quite as much as the recipe called for. It was a hit for St. Patty's Day and we had fun with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I used the leeks, about four golden potatoes (which is maybe more than a pound) and substituted 1/2 & 1/2 for the milk. This recipe was PERFECT! My family absolutely loved it and I will definitely make it again. We do have a few leftovers from St. Patrick's Day but I'm going to use them to make a kind of boxty. Yum! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
It's a nice twist to regular plain mashed potatoes! We enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
My hubby loved this, me -- not so much. Two leeks were too much; the amount of milk to cover them was enormous and if I'd put all that in the potatoes they would have been soupy. I only put in a small part and they were still wayyyyy too runny for me. I did like the cabbage and leek combo, but I ended up adding some sour cream and garlic powder to help the flavor. I may tweak this recipe a little and try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Though I'm not sure what this should have tasted like, I liked what I ended up with. I doubled the potatoes, cut the butter in half, didn't use any of the milk the leeks were boiled in and pureed the cooked cabbage in my food processor to make a thicker mashed potato-like dish. My picky hubby kept coming into the kitchen to see my "3-pot potatoes", worrying that it was green and wondering what the leeks were. But, to my suprize and his, he liked them too! I think a little garlic would have made them even better and may add some when I do this for real (this was a trial run) for a St. Patty's day potluck later this month. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
traditional colcannon uses kale rather than cabbage...try substituting and you'll be pleasantly suprised on how much better the dish will taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I like colcannon, and I liked this recipe, though I by far prefer the batch I made with kale - both visually, texture-wise, and taste-wise. A touch of garlic and a parsley garnish seemed a nice touch for me. Edit: I interpreted "Blend in kale..." as "Stir in kale". It looks more attractive and has more texture if you do it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was pretty good. It's kind of a strange combination of veggies but it works. It is very time consuming. I'm glad I used light butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States