Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Delicious recipe, even my six year old ate a big bowl. I veganized this recipe for myself. I boiled the cabbage and potatoes in broth and and then used plain soy milk for the leeks. I mixed in some margarine (earth balance) with the potatoes before I added the rest of the ingredients. Don't forget the mace. When I initially tasted it after adding the veggies I thought it needed something and was considering adding garlic, when I realized I'd forgotten the mace. I put a pinch in and was surprised to find it was perfect after that. Somehow it adds just the right edge to the dish. I mixed in some butter when I gave it my kids and it went over very well. The next morning I mixed in some eggs and fried it up for my husband and he said it was yummy, so this is a pretty versatile dish. I think I'm going to try using Kale next time and see how that it is. All in all a great recipe for St. Paddy's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was good. My husband and I liked the recipe. Five children ages 2-11 did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynna_Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcade, New York, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
A nice alternative to plain, old mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
i didn't have mace on hand so i went out and bought it. on the back of the container it had a "flavorful tip" saying that 1/4 tsp ground mace = 1 tsp ground nutmeg. i had nutmeg at home and wouldn't have spent $4.50 on mace that i probably won't use again. oh well, now i know for next time. hope this helps somebody. happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Great basic recipe--a hit with the Celtic Society I belong to... I prefer more potatoes as other reviewers mentioned. I use 1 cup sour cream instead of milk and add 1 t. of garlic powder. Sometimes I soften the cabbage in bacon grease and add crumbled bacon. It lends itself well to playing with the ingredients a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
YUMMY! Add more potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I have to admit I was afraid to add the mace after smelling it but the recipe turned out great without it. We love these potatoes and eat them all the time now. Thanks for the great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Velgos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Really good! Hubby and I both loved it! Even our son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetiesmj
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I saw this recipe featured on St. Patty's Day and saved it. I just now made it and am sorry that I didn't make it earlier. I used kale instead of broccoli only because I had kale in the fridge and also wanted the dish to turn out greener in color. Yum! The flavors of the leeks, potatoes and kale together along with the little bit of ground mace was delicious. Just be careful on how much mace you put into this dish because it can overwhelm the other flavors. The recipe says a pinch and it means a pinch. I always tend to go heavier on herbs and spices, but not on mace because it's strong. The overall appearance is exactly as photographed and is a crowd pleaser. I really enjoyed Colcannon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States