Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This tasted great and was pretty too! I reheated it for lunch the next day and seemed even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Chopped the cabbage and leeks and boiled together. Boiled potatoes, drained and mashed with the milk and butter in the same pan. Used a few shakes of nutmeg instead of mace and plenty of pepper. Drained the cabbage and leeks and added to the potatoes with more butter. Everyone liked these and will make it again. Will be a good recipe to have to try with kale too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was really good! I did not use exact measures and I forgot to add the mace, but it was good anyway. Even the kids ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I have been making this for years. I found this recipe and I like it so much more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAY10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I thought this was tasty... I did a few things different as others suggested.. I sauted the cabbage is small amount butter...which seem to give it a little extra zing... served it with famous pork chops from thiis site.. will make again, thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Well, I thought it was just a little bland, even after I added some garlic powder to it. I did like the mace though. I have never used it in my cooking before, so, it was good experimentation. I think this recipe could be good...I just need to tweek it a bit to suit our tastes better. It's a good starting point! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I didn't expect to like it and only made it because I got a head of cabbage and some leeks in my CSA box. I thought since I was making "Sheperd's Pie" I'd made it with colcannon instead of just mashed potatoes. I chopped the cabbage and steamed it with salt, boiled the potatoes with salt then drained each and mixed them together while the leeks were simmering. I used a little more than a cup of milk because the leeks needed it to cover them. I then mixed it all together and kept it warm in the oven while I made the "cream corn like no other' recipe from here for the middle layer. Then I layered it all and even my picky son ate it w/o protest! Will definitely make again and invite some Emerald Isle friends over in March for a Sheperd's Pie with colcannon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I had this for the first time in Dublin 12/07 and it was so good there I had to find a recipe to make it here. I changed/added a few things.I used 1/2 pound of kale, 1 cup of buttermilk and fresh garlic. Saute the kale,leeks,and garlic in the butter (add about a teaspoon or so of olive oil so butter doesn't burn)until soft and add to potatoes. I added the buttermilk right to the potato mixture. It was so good... thank you for the recipe it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Delicious recipe, even my six year old ate a big bowl. I veganized this recipe for myself. I boiled the cabbage and potatoes in broth and and then used plain soy milk for the leeks. I mixed in some margarine (earth balance) with the potatoes before I added the rest of the ingredients. Don't forget the mace. When I initially tasted it after adding the veggies I thought it needed something and was considering adding garlic, when I realized I'd forgotten the mace. I put a pinch in and was surprised to find it was perfect after that. Somehow it adds just the right edge to the dish. I mixed in some butter when I gave it my kids and it went over very well. The next morning I mixed in some eggs and fried it up for my husband and he said it was yummy, so this is a pretty versatile dish. I think I'm going to try using Kale next time and see how that it is. All in all a great recipe for St. Paddy's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States