Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Delicious! Even my children ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Krugersdorp, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Outstanding! I was a bit skeptical, as I am a mashed potato "purist" - it was awesome: Kids loved it, husband loved it, and I will definately make it again, even though it required multiple pans. I will just negotiate that someone else has to wash the dishes! LOVED THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This stuff is good! I did use white onion because I didn't have leeks. I also substituted nutmeg for mace like another reviewer did. Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Made it as a side for St. Patrick's Day dinner. The potatoes, cabbage and leeks blended together wonderfully. An easy and very forgiving recipe. Will definitley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I've never had Colcannon before, but I must say that this turned out pretty awesome! Followed another reviewer's suggestion and used nutmeg instead of mace. Also, I sautéed green onion (in place of leek) in butter before adding the milk. I let it simmer for a few minutes, so that the onion was slightly crunchy when everything was mixed together. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I am so in love with this dish! I prepare these for St. Patty's Day every year. I do not boil my cabbage!! I chop bacon and fry it crispy then saute the chopped/shredded cabbage in the grease, with s&p till golden brown. I add the bacon to my colcannon... OH MY! Sometimes I put my finished product under a broiler to let the tops of the potatoes get toasty. Then I made a well in the center of each persons serving and filled it with a spoonful of melted herb butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I made this for my St. Patick's Day party. I doubled the recipe. When I added the 2 cups of milk (doubled from the 1 cup suggested for the normal recipe), my spuds were floating in a soup. I ended up tripling the suggested amount of potatoes to dilute out the milk. The recipe should be changed to account for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Yumm, this is the first time I've ever ate cabbage, and its good! well at lest in this stuff lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was an ok recipe. It was pretty bland though. I added some sour cream to supplement the flavor. It was really good with the corned beef roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I had never made colcannon before. It's delicious. I did take some liberties with this recipe because my computer died before I could print out the recipe, so I was relying on my memory and tried to incorporate some of the suggestions previous reviewers made. I sauteed the cabbage in about 2 Tbsp. butter with two slices of country bacon. I added a heavy pinch of salt to the leek and milk mixture. I pureed everything together quickly at the end in a food processor (be careful not to over mix, because this will make it a pasty consistency). I only added about 1/4 cup of butter at the end, as well as salt to taste. I also took the two slices of country bacon that I used to flavor the cabbage, cut them into a small dice and crisped them up in a frying pan and sprinkled them on top. The flavors were deep, rich, sweet and salty. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States