Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I've never had Colcannon before, but I must say that this turned out pretty awesome! Followed another reviewer's suggestion and used nutmeg instead of mace. Also, I sautéed green onion (in place of leek) in butter before adding the milk. I let it simmer for a few minutes, so that the onion was slightly crunchy when everything was mixed together. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I am so in love with this dish! I prepare these for St. Patty's Day every year. I do not boil my cabbage!! I chop bacon and fry it crispy then saute the chopped/shredded cabbage in the grease, with s&p till golden brown. I add the bacon to my colcannon... OH MY! Sometimes I put my finished product under a broiler to let the tops of the potatoes get toasty. Then I made a well in the center of each persons serving and filled it with a spoonful of melted herb butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I made this for my St. Patick's Day party. I doubled the recipe. When I added the 2 cups of milk (doubled from the 1 cup suggested for the normal recipe), my spuds were floating in a soup. I ended up tripling the suggested amount of potatoes to dilute out the milk. The recipe should be changed to account for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Yumm, this is the first time I've ever ate cabbage, and its good! well at lest in this stuff lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was an ok recipe. It was pretty bland though. I added some sour cream to supplement the flavor. It was really good with the corned beef roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I had never made colcannon before. It's delicious. I did take some liberties with this recipe because my computer died before I could print out the recipe, so I was relying on my memory and tried to incorporate some of the suggestions previous reviewers made. I sauteed the cabbage in about 2 Tbsp. butter with two slices of country bacon. I added a heavy pinch of salt to the leek and milk mixture. I pureed everything together quickly at the end in a food processor (be careful not to over mix, because this will make it a pasty consistency). I only added about 1/4 cup of butter at the end, as well as salt to taste. I also took the two slices of country bacon that I used to flavor the cabbage, cut them into a small dice and crisped them up in a frying pan and sprinkled them on top. The flavors were deep, rich, sweet and salty. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very very good. I learned a lot about leeks today. Number one is to wash well-easier to chop first, then rinse the grit away. Some people won't go into the green at all, other use it all; others halfway, and still talked to another who uses it all but the top quarter of the leaves. I used halfway up the green only bc it seemed like a TON of leeks vs. cabbage/potato ratio, but after sauteeing the cabbage and leeks they reduced down quite a bit and the whole dish turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very tasty, but use less milk than the recipe calls for. I also added garlic and sauteed the leeks and cabbage rather than boiling. I think this would be delicious with a little bacon, but I made this for a work potluck and wanted to be considerate of vegetarians. Next time, I'll try it with kale for more color and character than the cabbage. For those who are wondering, mace is the outer coating of nutmeg, which is why they have similar flavors (mace is the flavoring in doughnuts). This is a very nice alternative to regular mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
It is not often I eat something that is so good that I think about it constantly the rest of the day... this is one of those dishes... the ultimate in comfort food... the ingredients combined are so much better than any one of them alone... sublime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Recipes was easy and delicious! I sauted my cabbage and leeks in a little olive oil while the potatoes boiled. Added all ingredients when I mashed with milk and butter. Enjoyed this, something different. Like the leeks in this, didn't overpower the potatoes and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States