Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I do not like cabbage so I was thrilled to find this recipe - I loved it! It's a nice way to sneak in some extra veggies. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Collins
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
was very good will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This dish is "wonderful" I was questionable about it at first with the ratio of cabbage to potatoes and the potatoes being so thin.. but hey it came out fantastic! yummmm I'll deffinately be making it again. suggestion top with thinly sliced scallions or leeks for presentation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sac Julie Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was a big hit at our dinner table. When my 3 and 2 year old boys were asking for seconds and thirds I knew we had a winner. Deffinately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This was a really nice dish -- creamy and delicious. It was nice to make this with corned beef and carrots... I could make this separately and still have room for the meat in crock pot! Even the picky eaters liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was very good. Had just returned from the hospital, was feeling tired so I used only things I had on hand. To make it easy I actually used instant mashed potatoes and a bag of shredded cabbage that I cooked until soft. Sauted some green onions in butter and mixed all together. Surprisingly delicious and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Just finished making and eating this. And let me say, this stuff tastes WAY better than I thought it would! Even my picky, cornbread raised, hot sauce lovin' husband liked it... and he DEFINITELY doesn't like this kind of stuff. The only things I did different was saute the leeks in some of the butter first, cut the butter down by half, and used nutmeg instead of mace like another reviewer suggested (couldn't find mace anywhere). Usually the recipes on this site are a hit or miss with me, and this colcannon is most certainly a HIT. Love it! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Delish! I used Yukon Golds so my potatoes weren't as fluffy but I loved the texture and the taste. Was going to use onion so I didn't have to go out and buy leeks, but boy am I glad I made the extra effort, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is a good recipe. I sauted the cabbage and leeks in the butter, then mashed the potatoes with the milk. I thought it was bland, then again I think all Irish food is bland. My wife loved it thou, so I guess it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Served this for St.Patty;s day and what a hit it was!! I used onions because I had no leeks. I also added 1 bunch of kale. I cooked the kale seperately,chopped it up and stirred it in last,I do not know if it would have tinted the dish green and I liked the look of it being white with green spottes. I also used a whole head of cabbage. This was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States