Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Just finished making and eating this. And let me say, this stuff tastes WAY better than I thought it would! Even my picky, cornbread raised, hot sauce lovin' husband liked it... and he DEFINITELY doesn't like this kind of stuff. The only things I did different was saute the leeks in some of the butter first, cut the butter down by half, and used nutmeg instead of mace like another reviewer suggested (couldn't find mace anywhere). Usually the recipes on this site are a hit or miss with me, and this colcannon is most certainly a HIT. Love it! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Delish! I used Yukon Golds so my potatoes weren't as fluffy but I loved the texture and the taste. Was going to use onion so I didn't have to go out and buy leeks, but boy am I glad I made the extra effort, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is a good recipe. I sauted the cabbage and leeks in the butter, then mashed the potatoes with the milk. I thought it was bland, then again I think all Irish food is bland. My wife loved it thou, so I guess it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Served this for St.Patty;s day and what a hit it was!! I used onions because I had no leeks. I also added 1 bunch of kale. I cooked the kale seperately,chopped it up and stirred it in last,I do not know if it would have tinted the dish green and I liked the look of it being white with green spottes. I also used a whole head of cabbage. This was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Delicious! Even my children ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Krugersdorp, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Outstanding! I was a bit skeptical, as I am a mashed potato "purist" - it was awesome: Kids loved it, husband loved it, and I will definately make it again, even though it required multiple pans. I will just negotiate that someone else has to wash the dishes! LOVED THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This stuff is good! I did use white onion because I didn't have leeks. I also substituted nutmeg for mace like another reviewer did. Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Made it as a side for St. Patrick's Day dinner. The potatoes, cabbage and leeks blended together wonderfully. An easy and very forgiving recipe. Will definitley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I've never had Colcannon before, but I must say that this turned out pretty awesome! Followed another reviewer's suggestion and used nutmeg instead of mace. Also, I sautéed green onion (in place of leek) in butter before adding the milk. I let it simmer for a few minutes, so that the onion was slightly crunchy when everything was mixed together. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I am so in love with this dish! I prepare these for St. Patty's Day every year. I do not boil my cabbage!! I chop bacon and fry it crispy then saute the chopped/shredded cabbage in the grease, with s&p till golden brown. I add the bacon to my colcannon... OH MY! Sometimes I put my finished product under a broiler to let the tops of the potatoes get toasty. Then I made a well in the center of each persons serving and filled it with a spoonful of melted herb butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States